Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2016, 02:44 PM   #1
Weekend Camper

Adding 12v outlets: DIY or pay someone?

Hi. I am new to TT's, we pick up our 2015 Sunset Trail ST240BH on Sat 8/27. I've had a pop up tent trailer for the last two years, and I had someone add some 12V/usb combo plugs into that. I have a CPAP machine and need the 12V plugs when dry camping, the recharge the batteries every couple of days with a generator. The guy who added the outlets to my pop up is no longer around, and the dealer quoted me $175/plug for him to add them. Since I want two, I'm looking at $350 for this mod. Am I off base, or does that seem like a lot for adding two outlets? I know this will be more labor intensive that the pop up, as my TT is sealed on the bottom. So I wanted to see if any of you had paid for this and what it cost, or is this something I can do myself? I'm not a professional, but I do know which end of the hammer is used on the nail...

Any way, I'd appreciate you comments!
smw57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 04:58 PM   #2
Site Team

Here is the most inexpensive solution.

https://www.amazon.com/Cellet-Univer...8ZS2HA9JRB2VFG

EAGLE HT FIFTH WHEEL | 30.5CKTS - '13 Ford F150 SCREW - PullRite Superslide - Roadmaster Active Suspension
Member - "Northeast Adventures RV Rally Group" & "Mason-Dixon Bunch"
mark5w is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 05:42 PM   #3
Weekend Camper

Thanks, but my issue is needing 12v DC power when dry camping with no hookups. In that instance, the 110V outlets in the trailer are off (I do not have an inverter), so I need to install a new the 12v DC plug in the wall on my side of the bed and then route the wires back to the circuit panel. Then I'll have 12 V power for the CPAP machine.