Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-28-2017, 08:20 AM   #1
Seasonal Camper

Installed....SURGE GUARD 35530 30amp unit

'Surge Guard' 35530 30amp Hardwired model.

I've been contemplating getting a surge protection system for Harvey for several months, Umming and Arring the pros and cons of the things, and occasionally researching anything I can find about them on the web.

When we're not travelling, we keep him plugged into a dedicated 30A outlet at our house we installed to periodically run the A/C and keeping the battery charged.

Last week, we were in Harvey parked alongside our home, and wondering if he could speak, what would he ask Santa to bring him?

Without warning we heard a loud ominous low frequency hum/buzz coming from somewhere outside. The sound is unmistakable and it eminated from one of those grey garbage bin sized contraptions at the top of a power pole 100 yds down the street. During thunderstorms I've heard the same sound and witnessed bright green sparks shoot out of the things, and usually the power goes off. On this occasion, no lightning, no rain, no thunder, no loss of power, just that sound.

When we went back inside the house we noticed everything with a digital display was flashing '00:00' or 'RESET', only then we realised the sound probably accompanied a 'brown out'.

Up until then, I'd only considered a surge protection unit may be necessary at campsites, and given we visit maybe 8 or 10 per year, our exposure was minimal, but this was a revelation, our beloved Harvey is just as vulnerable right here at home, plugged into the house, as he is at a damp old pedestal in a rustic campsite.

"Dear Santa".....

A quick phone call to TechnoRV in Alabama, and a lengthy discussion with one of their very knowledgeable technicians lead me to the purchase a 'Surge Guard 35530' Hardwired 30 amp unit.