Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2011, 05:12 AM   #1
Family Vacation Member
 
rollingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 128
Our new rig is at the dealer getting some things done.

The squeaky floor. They re going in from the bottom and removing 1 grey tank to get to it. They feel good about being able to fix that.

Slam Latch doors needed to be adjusted...the screws in the openging were sticking up too high so they counter sunk those and presto that is fixed.

The LP gas door is getting replaced. A slight design flaw on a beam on the inside of the storage will not allow the tanks to sit back far enough so it was bending the door. They think they got this one fixed.

The awning wasn't coming in straight so they got that fixed.

And the biggie, I am having them do for me is install a transfer switch so I can use 30 amp and 20 amp service when 50 isn't there. I am excited about that b/c most of our camping areas are not 50 amp and running 2 AC's isn't possible. With the record texas heat we are having, momma won't be happy like that.

Anywho, should have the rig back by Friday late afternoon.

Cheers






rollingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 05:34 AM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
Hunter11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 2,510
"And the biggie, I am having them do for me is install a transfer switch so I can use 30 amp and 20 amp service when 50 isn't there. I am excited about that b/c most of our camping areas are not 50 amp and running 2 AC's isn't possible. With the record texas heat we are having, momma won't be happy like that. "



I had one installed in our unit before it was delivered. We have only used it once but it was well worth the extra we paid for it to use both AC units without 50 amp service.
__________________
17 Chevy 3500 DRW 4X4
16 Mobile Suites 36RSSB4
2 Mini Dachshunds
Hunter11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 07:06 AM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,012
I bought a pigtail at the dealers that has a 20a and 30a plug going to a 50a socket. The owner said he used one a lot and it works fine. No mods to the rv.
__________________
Clif and Millie
Ozzie (half a dog tall & 2 dogs long)
Mabank, TX
2009 Ford Lariat F350 SRW CC Diesel
2013 Cruiser CF305SK Patriot Edition
avvidclif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 08:06 AM   #4
Family Vacation Member
 
rollingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 128


Quote:
Originally Posted by avvidclif
I bought a pigtail at the dealers that has a 20a and 30a plug going to a 50a socket. The owner said he used one a lot and it works fine. No mods to the rv.
This method will only work if the park pole isn't GFI. If there i a GFI circut there, it won't work. Most of the park poles we have used are mostly GFI so it makes things kind of difficult.



That is the reason we are opting for the transfer switch.


rollingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 09:29 AM   #5
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,012
I don't know, haven't had a chance to try it yet. Just going by what I was told... All the state parks I have been to in Texas have 50a, rekin it's because of the temperature???



107 today
__________________
Clif and Millie
Ozzie (half a dog tall & 2 dogs long)
Mabank, TX
2009 Ford Lariat F350 SRW CC Diesel
2013 Cruiser CF305SK Patriot Edition
avvidclif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 09:41 AM   #6
Full Time Camper
 
Hunter11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 2,510
Lockhart SP only has 30 amp which is where we used our transfer switch to run both AC units. As rollingrock stated the 20 amp was a GFI plug but worked fine for the bedroom AC unit. I do think most of the State Parks are moving to 50 amp service but it will take a while to get them all upgraded.
__________________
17 Chevy 3500 DRW 4X4
16 Mobile Suites 36RSSB4
2 Mini Dachshunds
Hunter11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 01:49 AM   #7
Family Vacation Member
 
rollingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 128
someone told me to cut the neutral off a 3 way plug to avoid the GFI...not sure I would do it but it does make sense.






rollingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 03:48 AM   #8
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Valdosta Ga
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollingrock
someone told me to cut the neutral off a 3 way plug to avoid the GFI...not sure I would do it but it does make sense.


That would kill your power. The "neutral" is just as hot as the "hot" wire. You have to have a return path for current flow and that is the neutral wire.
__________________
2010 F350 SRW SWB FX4 Diesel

2011 Seville VF36SB

http://i1130.photobucket.com/albums/...mi/Seville.jpg
GaPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 04:03 AM   #9
Full Time Camper
 
Ruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MYR
Posts: 535




By "transfer switch" y'all mean to transfer from shore power to generator, or visa-versa, yeah?
__________________
Travel Well / Travel Safe...
Ruck -n- Ella

'12 F350(NotShown) / '11 Rushmore 35RL
http://i53.tinypic.com/2qs5cw3.jpg
Ruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:10 AM   #10
Family Vacation Member
 
FFFord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 227
It could, but not in this situation. They are tranferring power on the RV breaker box,from 2 busses with 110 VAC/50 amps to 1 buss with 110 VAC/30 amps. This is so they can run the 2 a/c on a 30 amp service only.
__________________
Steve & Sharon
'13 Dodge Citadel (hers)
'12 3500 Dodge Mega Cab 6.7 Cummins (his)
'12 Crossroads Rushmore RF38FL (ours!)
Barry, the ADHD x 2 German Shepherd mix, Granddog.
FFFord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:30 AM   #11
Family Vacation Member
 
rollingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 128


Quote:
Originally Posted by GaPete
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollingrock
someone told me to cut the neutral off a 3 way plug to avoid the GFI...not sure I would do it but it does make sense.




That would kill your power. The "neutral" is just as hot as the "hot" wire. You have to have a return path for current flow and that is the neutral wire.
Sorry I meant to say, cut the "ground" off to fool the GFI


rollingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:39 AM   #12
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Valdosta Ga
Posts: 82
The way a GFCI works is to measure the current out one leg say black wire and then measure how much comes back on the white wire. If there is a small amount of difference it opens the circuit.The ground purpose is to provide a low resistance path to "ground". Without it, equipment could become shorted to power and have no path back to source or ground other than perhap you when you touch the equipment and become its path to ground. The lower your resistance, say you are wet and standing in a mud puddle the more likely you are to be electrocuted. Hopefully the GFCI will be functional and open the power at the first sign of loss to ground via your body.
__________________
2010 F350 SRW SWB FX4 Diesel

2011 Seville VF36SB

http://i1130.photobucket.com/albums/...mi/Seville.jpg
GaPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:50 PM   #13
Full Time Camper
 
Ruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MYR
Posts: 535




rollingrock= " I am having them do for me is install a transfer switch so I can use 30 amp and 20 amp service when 50 isn't there. I am excited about that b/c most of our camping areas are not 50 amp and running 2 AC's isn't possible."
Forgive my ignorance, but was told by an individual @ crossroads that the transfer switch was to switch the shore power to, an installed and wired gen, on the rig. So is possible to get a little more info inre the transfer switch y'all er talkin' 'bout? Who would I see about it and what the cost is, maybe? Thanks much. BTW, should be at the cmpgrndIndiana Thur mid-day. About two and a half hours out, as I speak, in Ohio. Site #38
__________________
Travel Well / Travel Safe...
Ruck -n- Ella

'12 F350(NotShown) / '11 Rushmore 35RL
http://i53.tinypic.com/2qs5cw3.jpg
Ruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:52 PM   #14
Full Time Camper
 
Ruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MYR
Posts: 535




How does one do the "Original Post" thing, as I see here? thanks
__________________
Travel Well / Travel Safe...
Ruck -n- Ella

'12 F350(NotShown) / '11 Rushmore 35RL
http://i53.tinypic.com/2qs5cw3.jpg
Ruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 04:33 AM   #15
Family Vacation Member
 
rock1424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruck
How does one do the "Original Post" thing, as I see here? thanks




Click on the "quote" button on the post that you want to respond to.The text from that post will appear in your reply window and show up that way when you click "post reply"
__________________
'08 Cruiser Sport RF25RL

http://i213.photobucket.com/albums/c...rawberry-1.jpg
rock1424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 06:24 AM   #16
Full Time Camper
 
Ruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MYR
Posts: 535


Quote:
Originally Posted by rock1424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruck
How does one do the "Original Post" thing, as I see here? thanks




Click on the "quote" button on the post that you want to respond to.The text from that post will appear in your reply window and show up that way when you click "post reply"
aha .... probably should/could have figured that out, duh... thanks!
__________________
Travel Well / Travel Safe...
Ruck -n- Ella

'12 F350(NotShown) / '11 Rushmore 35RL
http://i53.tinypic.com/2qs5cw3.jpg
Ruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 01:32 PM   #17
Family Vacation Member
 
rollingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 128
Got the rig back and installed the transfer switch today and tested it all day running the second air via its own power source to a GFI outlet while running the coach on a 30amp box in my garage. Has worked as advertised.

I helped wit the install, it was very easy and took around 1.5 hours.

WhooHoo we are so happy to be running two airs at 30 amp parks...we are camping at Loyd Park next week and its only 30 amp. In the heat of the day today (our driveway) temp got up to 74 inside with both running and it was 106 outside. I'll take a 32 split anyday!

RR







rollingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 08:21 AM   #18
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: florida
Posts: 189
RollingRock,
do you have some sort of schematic or pics of how transfer switch was installed. I have wired up a lot of stuff but never a tx switch, sure if I had some diagrams or pics I could do it.
thanks


shoe2728 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 09:30 AM   #19
Family Vacation Member
 
rollingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 128


Quote:
Originally Posted by shoe2728
RollingRock,
do you have some sort of schematic or pics of how transfer switch was installed. I have wired up a lot of stuff but never a tx switch, sure if I had some diagrams or pics I could do it.
thanks

Hey I don't a schematic but will do you one better.

This is what was put in.

http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CFQQ8wIwAw#


rollingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 09:31 AM   #20
Family Vacation Member
 
rollingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 128
http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CFQQ8wIwAw#



rollingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×