Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2018, 07:49 PM   #1
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 62
Adding an a/c

I am looking to add a "Coleman Mach 3 Plus 13,500 BTU Black RV Air Conditioner Non Ducked" to the bedroom roof vent. I already have a "Colman Mach 15" and I don't find it to be enough here in south Louisiana when the heat index is 105 degrees. The thing is I only have a non powered roof vent. The A/C only requires 110 volts, 13 amps to run. So I was wondering if I wired a plug and plugged it into a wall socket would that work? I t won't have the heater so that will be the max draw. RV model in signature.
__________________
Brett A. Landry

2018 Sunset Trail SS262BH
2012 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 4x4
5.3L, 3.42 gears factory tow package
CobaltPaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 08:23 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: mo
Posts: 270
Is your camper 30 amp or 50 amp? The reason I ask is you state 13 amps to run x2 is 26 amps on a 30 amp system. And is that running or starting amps? Starting amps would be even higher. If you have A 50 amp camper you would be ok but with 30 camper if both airs compressors turned on at the same time the breaker would blow.
__________________
2005 Cruiser 29CK
2008 GMC 2500hd 4x4
Crew cab Long bed 6.0 gas
4.10 gear ratio
dagst1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 09:01 PM   #3
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 62
It is a 30 amp. I may look into a smaller btu, wonder if that would work. Any suggestions on a smaller unit?
__________________
Brett A. Landry

2018 Sunset Trail SS262BH
2012 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 4x4
5.3L, 3.42 gears factory tow package
CobaltPaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 05:05 PM   #4
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palacios, TX
Posts: 59
Adding an a/c

Previous posts are correct. 30 amps isn't enough to run two a/c's and anything else. However, I solved the problem in my Cruiser by running a dedicated circuit to the added bedroom a/c. This circuit has a cord (properly sized) that runs to the power pedestal. There is usually a 15 amp plug there. If not, get an adapter, and plug it in to the 50 amp receptacle. Be sure you include a circuit breaker when you install the additional circuit (I added a separate circuit breaker box, with a single, 20 amp breaker). This setup gives me the power I need for the additional a/c, plus an extra plug for a space heater in cold weather. Works good for us.
__________________
2007 CF30SK
2005 2500HD Silvarado
>>I've given up on Enlightenment...Now, I'm just hoping for a Reasonable Fantasy<<
cliffw42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 05:41 PM   #5
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 62
I was thinking that that would be the only way to add an extra A/C. Thanks for the advice, I do appreciate it.
__________________
Brett A. Landry

2018 Sunset Trail SS262BH
2012 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 4x4
5.3L, 3.42 gears factory tow package
CobaltPaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.