Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2012, 12:23 AM   #1
Full Time Camper
 
socoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , RI
Posts: 1,163
Hi. We have 50Amp service, however, it is not often needed. We currently run only one AC. Question do any of you travel with two power cords (50 & 30 Amp). The 50 can be a bear to wrestle into storage (especially in foul weather). I am sure this is posted somewhere but would appreciate feedback. Thanks.
__________________
Al Laura (Lily & Breeze Portie Girls)
2011 F250 6.7 PS Tuxedo Black 4x4
11 305SKP- TPMS- RideRite air bags
Reese 16K Slider Wet Bolts
socoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:12 AM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
Hunter11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 2,510


I don't think you can put a 30A power cord on the 50A trailer hookup but you can get a 50A to 30A dogbone adaptor like the one below. I carry one but have only used it at our storage place.



http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...a-female/27988

__________________
17 Chevy 3500 DRW 4X4
16 Mobile Suites 36RSSB4
2 Mini Dachshunds
Hunter11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 03:13 AM   #3
Family Vacation Member
 
1olcatonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 102
coil your 50 amp cord into a tub. I actually use a tall rectangular one then fold the patio rug and put it on top of the cord. The cord is much easier to put in the basement if it all contained.
__________________
1olcatonr
1olcatonr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 03:29 AM   #4
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,012
I have actually 3 power cords. I have the stock 50A 30' with the Marinco detachable connector on the RV end. I also have an 1' adapter that plugs into the RV and goes to a 30A extension cord, look up Marinco 124ARV. That allows me to use the 30A extension cord when I don't want to mess with the "Moose". I also have a Marinco adapter that goes to a regular 15A plug so I can use a 12 or 14ga regular extension cord when the AC's are not needed or when hooked up at the house and only the converter and refrigerator are being used.



Multiple choice but I like it as the 50A cord is a pain.
__________________
Clif and Millie
Ozzie (half a dog tall & 2 dogs long)
Mabank, TX
2009 Ford Lariat F350 SRW CC Diesel
2013 Cruiser CF305SK Patriot Edition
avvidclif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:55 AM   #5
Family Vacation Member
 
speedster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Owen Sound, On
Posts: 117




Ditto I have all three as well, do lots of rough camping and use the 15amp cord most of the time as the toaster and coffee makeris about the heaviest draw we will have on the system.

You can never have enough cords or adapters !
__________________
http://i1257.photobucket.com/albums/...0319-00036.jpg



2013 CF345RF Provincial

2006 GMC Dura Max Diesel
speedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 08:47 AM   #6
Seasonal Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 377


Quote:
Originally Posted by speedster



Ditto I have all three as well, do lots of rough camping and use the 15amp cord most of the time as the toaster and coffee makeris about the heaviest draw we will have on the system.

You can never have enough cords or adapters !
X2 on adapters water, sewer and electrical. I have a bucket full of them but still do not always have what is needed.
rcflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 10:55 AM   #7
Full Time Camper
 
socoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , RI
Posts: 1,163
Thanks to all of you. I do carry a 15amp cord and adapter and have a dogbone. I also use a plastic tub to wrap and store the 50. So it has all been said , I will go ahead and get a 30 amp cord and complete the set. Thanks. Happy trails to all!
__________________
Al Laura (Lily & Breeze Portie Girls)
2011 F250 6.7 PS Tuxedo Black 4x4
11 305SKP- TPMS- RideRite air bags
Reese 16K Slider Wet Bolts
socoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 02:23 PM   #8
Seasonal Camper
 
Sirsea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 265
We also carry a couple of 25' 30A cords with Marinco twist lock connectors and the 50 x 30 adpaters. In additlion, we have a 90' 30 amp cord with twist locks on one end and a "dryer" connection on the other for when we stay at one of the kids house we can run one of the A/Cs.
Sirsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.