Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2017, 07:55 PM   #1
Family Vacation Member
 
morphrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
30 amp garage upgrade question

I would like to finally install an outlet for my RV but would like some more knowledgeable help. Current sub panel has the 2 top 50 amp breakers going to a hot tub, the 2 lower 20 amp singles are garage outlets. 1 is going to single gang box where fridge is plugged in, the other goes to other side of garage to a double gang. Would I be able to tie both those to one 20 amp fuse, get rid of the other and add a 30 amp fuse with upgraded #10 guage wire to make my dedicated RV outlet or is there a different route to go? Thanks in advance.

__________________
2015 Z-218TD
(2) 100 watt Renogy Solar Panels
30 amp Renogy Wanderer
2001 6.0 2500HD Gasser
morphrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 07:58 PM   #2
Family Vacation Member
 
morphrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
The sheathed cable you see to the right, outside the box goes to a 125/250 receptacle that was there before the hot tub was wired in. I assume for a welder. It is not wired in since previous owner ran the wiring to hot tub sub panel on the back deck.
__________________
2015 Z-218TD
(2) 100 watt Renogy Solar Panels
30 amp Renogy Wanderer
2001 6.0 2500HD Gasser
morphrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 09:01 PM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
Stan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 1,994
What size breaker is the subpanel fed from? You could do what you suggested but personally i would pull that panel and install a new one and start over. It looks like you have easy access to it. Are your garage plugs GFI? Might want to consult an electrician for the work.
__________________
Stan and Terri
Oak Harbor, WA
2008 Chevy 2500HD D/A
2007 Cruiser CF30SK
Glide Ride Pin Box
Reese 16K Slider
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 09:08 AM   #4
Family Vacation Member
 
morphrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
I think I am over complicating this by looking at my sub panel next to the main panel. My main panel has 2 slots open so I think the easiest route is going to be to just add to the main panel with a single pole 30 amp breaker with appropriate wires going to the receptacle which will be installed below that panel by a couple feet.
__________________
2015 Z-218TD
(2) 100 watt Renogy Solar Panels
30 amp Renogy Wanderer
2001 6.0 2500HD Gasser
morphrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 09:45 AM   #5
Family Vacation Member
 
morphrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
Disregard last post. After removing the main panel cover there is no room in there. I think I will just go your route Stan and build a new sub panel and keep the 2 dedicated 20 amp circuits and also add to it another dedicated 20 and a 30 for the RV outlet. I am in construction so it's easy for me to have electricians assist me with what I need. Thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
2015 Z-218TD
(2) 100 watt Renogy Solar Panels
30 amp Renogy Wanderer
2001 6.0 2500HD Gasser
morphrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 10:58 AM   #6
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DFW, TexUS
Posts: 1,032
Since you are doing that much work, can the voice of many experiences throw out an idea ?

opt for a 50 amp now

WHEN, not if, you upgrade rv's you'll be thankful you did !

Price out the difference and it will be much easier now than later. Just sayin'
__________________
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 11:12 AM   #7
Family Vacation Member
 
morphrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
Then by having that 50amp plug all I would need is an adapter for my 30amp cord to RV correct? Doing my research for this and looking at different sub-panels. If I am thinking correctly all I would need is at minimum a 6 space panel to hold the existing breakers with the addition of another 2 pole 50amp? Good news with that is I already have wires in the wall I can use.
__________________
2015 Z-218TD
(2) 100 watt Renogy Solar Panels
30 amp Renogy Wanderer
2001 6.0 2500HD Gasser
morphrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 12:22 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: WI.
Posts: 7,682
When we built the shed for our RV, we trenched electric to it from the 100 amp panel in the garage. We used a 60 amp panel in the shed. From that I installed a 50 amp breaker for my welder, 30 breaker for the RV, lights, and a few misc. outlets. Now I know that all adds up to more than 60 amps, but they're not all in use at the same time.
Kinda like the way they wire some of our RVs
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_1685_v1.jpg (155.7 KB, 9 views)
__________________
2008 Cruiser CF26RK
2013 Ford Eco-Boost
Heavy duty payload - Max tow
Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 02:20 PM   #9
Full Time Camper
 
r2millers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphrider View Post
Then by having that 50amp plug all I would need is an adapter for my 30amp cord to RV correct? Doing my research for this and looking at different sub-panels. If I am thinking correctly all I would need is at minimum a 6 space panel to hold the existing breakers with the addition of another 2 pole 50amp? Good news with that is I already have wires in the wall I can use.
Maybe I'm just confused. You're first post you indicate you want to add a 30 amp Outlet. Sounds like a source for running something larger then typical usage.

Then here, it sounds like you want to add a second source for power, allowing for using a 30 amp post.

Maybe more thoughts on why you're doing this to help clarify?
__________________

Bob and Better Half

2007 F-250 PSD, SW, CC, LB, 2WD
2006 TF32SS Cross Terrain Toy Hauler (sold)
Reese 16k slider
r2millers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 02:51 PM   #10
Family Vacation Member
 
morphrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2millers View Post
Maybe I'm just confused. You're first post you indicate you want to add a 30 amp Outlet. Sounds like a source for running something larger then typical usage.

Then here, it sounds like you want to add a second source for power, allowing for using a 30 amp post.

Maybe more thoughts on why you're doing this to help clarify?
I originally wanted 30amp dedicated RV outlet, but after suggestion to instead go to a 50amp RV outlet, that is what the new plan is. So inside the new panel I would like to have (2) double pole 50amp breakers and (3-4) single pole 20amp breakers for garage outlets.
__________________
2015 Z-218TD
(2) 100 watt Renogy Solar Panels
30 amp Renogy Wanderer
2001 6.0 2500HD Gasser
morphrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 08:09 PM   #11
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DFW, TexUS
Posts: 1,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphrider View Post
Then by having that 50amp plug all I would need is an adapter for my 30amp cord to RV correct? Doing my research for this and looking at different sub-panels. If I am thinking correctly all I would need is at minimum a 6 space panel to hold the existing breakers with the addition of another 2 pole 50amp? Good news with that is I already have wires in the wall I can use.
right...
I bought a couple of adapters and extension cords (both 30 amp and 50 AMP 'just in case', if you know what I mean...


The first two here, one is 30 to 50 and the other is 50 to 30.

Good luck and bet it's not much more to go to 50, but remember, 50 amp is NOT like most electrician will do it... make sure they realize it's for an RV !

Some reading for you here
__________________
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 11:04 AM   #12
Full Time Camper
 
r2millers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphrider View Post
I originally wanted 30amp dedicated RV outlet, but after suggestion to instead go to a 50amp RV outlet, that is what the new plan is. So inside the new panel I would like to have (2) double pole 50amp breakers and (3-4) single pole 20amp breakers for garage outlets.
I know others disagree here but what in the world would you need a 50 amp, 120v circuit for.
I'm all for cautioning on the side error, but unless you have a 120v welder or the such, I can't imagine needing to go that BIG.
__________________

Bob and Better Half

2007 F-250 PSD, SW, CC, LB, 2WD
2006 TF32SS Cross Terrain Toy Hauler (sold)
Reese 16k slider
r2millers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 11:52 AM   #13
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DFW, TexUS
Posts: 1,032
50 amp for the NEXT rv they get...
ours will load shed if connected to 30 amp so if in the middle of August and it's 110 outside, I DON'T want one of those loads it sheds to be 1 of the 3 ac's

The last 3 rv's I've had were 50 amp...
__________________
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 03:13 PM   #14
Full Time Camper
 
r2millers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnboytoo View Post
50 amp for the NEXT rv they get...
ours will load shed if connected to 30 amp so if in the middle of August and it's 110 outside, I DON'T want one of those loads it sheds to be 1 of the 3 ac's

The last 3 rv's I've had were 50 amp...
Got it. Finally figured out the OP's first picture was his home, not his rv.
Kept thinking he wanted a usable 50 amp, 120v circuit.
Feel better now.
__________________

Bob and Better Half

2007 F-250 PSD, SW, CC, LB, 2WD
2006 TF32SS Cross Terrain Toy Hauler (sold)
Reese 16k slider
r2millers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 03:24 PM   #15
Family Vacation Member
 
morphrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
Yup, just looking at upgrading at the garage. Will be getting parts to accomplish this during the week.
__________________
2015 Z-218TD
(2) 100 watt Renogy Solar Panels
30 amp Renogy Wanderer
2001 6.0 2500HD Gasser
morphrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017, 07:35 AM   #16
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 35
Go big i.e.; 60 amp panel min. Do the job once and be prepared for what the future may hold. That is not too large for a hot tub, 50A RV, etc. There may be times when both the hot tub and RV run simultaneously i.e.; routine hot tub automatic maintenance. Why are you using 20 A branch circuits? 15A will handle most loads including a block heater for your auto.

I am now in the process of converting my garage to a small workshop. I added a Square D 60A subpanel. First branch circuit is 20A 240vac to supply a 3 hp table saw. Later, I plan to add a 30A single pole receptacle outside for my 33 ft. 5th wheel. As I will never acquire a larger RV (maybe smaller though), I have no need for 50A to the RV. Of course I will be adding branch circuits for my other power tools.

Have fun..........

Fuzz
__________________
fuzzdr
Cruiser CF31LK 2014; F-350 Crew Diesel SRW 2015
fuzzdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×