Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2014, 08:40 PM   #1
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 35
30amp -> 15amp adapter

I just brought our first camper home today. It is a 30amp unit and we bought the 30 to 15 amp "pigtail". Do I need to do anything special to the unit before plugging it into my residential power, or can I just plug it in and use my lights? I know that I cannot run anything that requires a heavy draw, I just want t be able to utilize my lights in my driveway. Thanks!
__________________
2015 Rezerve RTZ28BH

2014 Ram 3500HD Laramie, Crew Cab, 6.7L Cummins, 6speed auto, 4x4
CabinDweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 08:48 PM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
Russb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 602
You should have no problem using the lights. Be sure the water heater is off if it is electric. Just plug in and enjoy.
__________________
Russ
Forney,TX
2010 Cruiser CTX CT29RLX
2009 F-150XLT
Russb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 08:49 PM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
Tim D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: So IL
Posts: 1,811
You should be good. I would however use a heavy 10 or 12 gauge extension if running any distance.
__________________

Tim
13 ST25RB
08 F-250 SC 6.8L XLT 4x4
Tim D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 08:55 PM   #4
Site Team
 
mark5w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,754
Yes, make sure the extension is the correct gauge. When I was in a pinch I used a 14 gauge extension and melted the end.
__________________
Mark & Susan
Lehighton, Pennsylvania

'13 Cruiser Patriot 335SS - '13 Ford F150 SCREW - PullRite Superslide - Roadmaster Active Suspension
Member - "Northeast Adventures RV Rally Group" & "Mason-Dixon Bunch"
mark5w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 08:56 PM   #5
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 35
Wow! Good to know. Thanks guys!
__________________
2015 Rezerve RTZ28BH

2014 Ram 3500HD Laramie, Crew Cab, 6.7L Cummins, 6speed auto, 4x4
CabinDweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 09:27 AM   #6
Full Time Camper
 
OhioMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United states of america
Posts: 1,540
Yep, all good advice here. Also, don't turn on the AC. Most likely not enough amps anyways from a standard plug.

When my rig is in the driveway and gets toasty while were packing for a trip, I'll run a 30 amp rv extension to the washer plug in the house. ...20 amp break and only thing on it is the washer. It will run the AC and give me enough voltage as long as the washer isnt running.
__________________

2017 Ford F350 Super Duty 6.7 King Ranch Crew
2016 Crossroads Sunset Trail Grand Reserve 32BH
OhioMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 05:33 PM   #7
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 12
I can run my AC off a 15amp pigtail. I can't run the main fridge at the same time or the Water heater at all, but the AC runs just fine.
__________________
2014 Sunset Trail ST32RL
2012 F250 Superduty
techie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 07:11 PM   #8
Full Time Camper
 
Tim D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: So IL
Posts: 1,811
You can run the AC off 15 amp as long as extension cord is heavy enough. Most "professional" extension cords are no less than 12 gauge.
__________________

Tim
13 ST25RB
08 F-250 SC 6.8L XLT 4x4
Tim D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 02:37 PM   #9
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 35
So I bought a 12 ga. cord and plugged it in. Everything seems to be running fine. It sounds like there is a fan running in the fuse/breaker box. It speeds up as I turn more lights on in the trailer. I assume this is normal... Will this run all the time when the trailer is plugged into a power source?
__________________
2015 Rezerve RTZ28BH

2014 Ram 3500HD Laramie, Crew Cab, 6.7L Cummins, 6speed auto, 4x4
CabinDweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 02:50 PM   #10
Full Time Camper
 
fhenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ms
Posts: 2,739
Hearing that run is a good thing It means your converter is working. It is the fan to keep that Converter cooled off
__________________
Frank and Janet Henn
2017 380MBH pushing a 2007 Dodge
CDT with a six speed Automatic
Traveling with Hoover and Rainbow the wonder dogs and now with Sunshine the rescue Schnauzer.
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 05:09 PM   #11
Site Team
 
DavisK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CabinDweller View Post
So I bought a 12 ga. cord and plugged it in. Everything seems to be running fine. It sounds like there is a fan running in the fuse/breaker box. It speeds up as I turn more lights on in the trailer. I assume this is normal... Will this run all the time when the trailer is plugged into a power source?
If you swap the incandescent bulbs for LED bulbs, the fan won't need to run with the lights on while you're plugged in. And, the battery will discharge slower when not plugged in.
__________________

2013 Silverado 2500HD LTZ CC 6.6L Duramax Diesel
2014 Sunset Trail SF270BH
Holly & Buster, mini Dachshunds
2016: 1 trip, 3 nights in 1 state, 316 miles
2015: 5 trips, 18 nights in 3 states, 2707 miles
2014: 5 trips, 14 nights in 3 states, 2426 miles
DavisK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 07:31 PM   #12
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 35
Thanks Davis. I saw some posts about that and plan to do so in the near future.
__________________
2015 Rezerve RTZ28BH

2014 Ram 3500HD Laramie, Crew Cab, 6.7L Cummins, 6speed auto, 4x4
CabinDweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 04:28 PM   #13
Full Time Camper
 
Tim D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: So IL
Posts: 1,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhenn View Post
Hearing that run is a good thing It means your converter is working. It is the fan to keep that Converter cooled off
X2...
__________________

Tim
13 ST25RB
08 F-250 SC 6.8L XLT 4x4
Tim D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 09:18 AM   #14
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 95
30 to 15 amp

I have one of those adapters, if you don't use a/c or microwave, should work fine for lights etc...... I am able to park my rv next to the house and had a 30 amp put in...... sure is nice to pack and unpack with a/c on
gregtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×