Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2011, 02:03 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

As I've said earlier, I'm new to the 5th wheel world (hopefully buying Cruiser on Saturday) so wondering what's the differences in towing as compared to a travel trailer. I have been told the one issue that is most different is backing that involves turning. Any "tricks" to this as well as other things I should be aware of? Thanks in advance, Roy

Baxter the Shih Tzu

2007 F350 LB Dually Diesel

Chief-e9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:10 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

The 5th wheel will be slower to respond to turning both backing and making corners compared to a TT. With our Sidewinder hitch I have the best of both worlds. If you have been towing a TT you will get the hang of the 5th wheel in no time.
Hunter11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:11 AM   #3
Site Team

Roy, a 5th wheel follows behind and handles so much better then "most" trailers, it's not even funny.
As far as backing, if you know how to back a trailer---it's basically the same thing/same way.
Just take it easy until you feel comfortable, and have fun.

Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:23 AM   #4
Seasonal Camper

I second the above comments. In my experience the longer the hitch the easier the backing and so with a 5th wheel there is no length and as Hunter says "slow in responding". The biggest problem backing my Cruiser is my DW. She tells me to start turning and by that time it's too late. I need to get her thinking farther ahead to anticipate the turn.
You'll love pulling a 5er as much as I do, for the most part I hardly even know it's there!

https://www.runnerduck.com/images/dev...andtrailer.jpg

KennyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 04:05 AM   #5
Full Time Camper

Roy,