Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2014, 05:15 AM   #1
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 35
Cable VS Satellite Hook up

I have a Zinger 2014 33BH with the exterior Cable/Satellite male connection. I also have the HD antenna on top of the roof. I have used the camper a few times and tried to get the main tv to work but never had any luck with getting good reception from the antenna alone. I am currently parked at a spot where I have access to the park TV Cable connection. So I have hooked up the coax from the park connection point to the exterior port on the left rear of the camper. My problem is between the main TV and another one in the rear bunk I can only get a few channels (5 max). I am wondering if I am missing something. When hooked up to the Exterior cable port does this automatically bypass the antenna or am I still pulling a signal from the antenna? Also looking to go to a satellite dish here soon, am I going to experience the same problems? Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Kurt
__________________
2015 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab
2014 Zinger 33BH
kbravo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:25 AM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
fhenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ms
Posts: 2,739
I would guess that you still have your antenna amp turned on. Look near the main TV and see if there is a small light on. If there is there is a button there push it to turn it off
__________________
Frank and Janet Henn
2017 380MBH pushing a 2007 Dodge
CDT with a six speed Automatic
Traveling with Hoover and Rainbow the wonder dogs and now with Sunshine the rescue Schnauzer.
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 08:16 AM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
geondebi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 591
I agree with frank about the amp is turned on. Once that is turned off the cable connection should work fine. If your park has cable you may not need the sat dish unless there are channels you want not provided by the cable company.
__________________
George and Debi
2006 F250 PSD, 2005 PF30CK
geondebi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 08:28 AM   #4
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 35
Thanks Both, I will have to try and locate this Amp.
__________________
2015 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab
2014 Zinger 33BH
kbravo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 09:23 AM   #5
Full Time Camper
 
socoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , RI
Posts: 1,163
Should ba a toggle switch with a power on light near outlets and cable and sat hook-up. Behind main TV mount area
__________________
Al Laura (Lily & Breeze Portie Girls)
2011 F250 6.7 PS Tuxedo Black 4x4
11 305SKP- TPMS- RideRite air bags
Reese 16K Slider Wet Bolts
socoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 10:00 AM   #6
Full Time Camper
 
Stan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 1,988
Not sure about the new units, but my rig has sat cable only to the main TV not the bedroom. I had to add a splice near the amp ( I have access to it from the fridge back panel) and now can receiver sat to both TV's. There have been reports of bad cabling so make sure yours are good before troubleshooting further.
__________________
Stan and Terri
Oak Harbor, WA
2008 Chevy 2500HD D/A
2007 Cruiser CF30SK
Glide Ride Pin Box
Reese 16K Slider
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 10:48 AM   #7
Full Time Camper
 
cw3jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 688
Also make sure you change your tv to cable input in the setup menu and re scan for channels
__________________

Jason & Wendy
2014 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L PSD
2015 Keystone Montana 3711FL
B&W Patriot 16K Fifth Wheel Hitch
cw3jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 04:07 PM   #8
Seasonal Camper
 
mnsunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: minnesota
Posts: 365
cable hookup

Also, be sure to check with you neighbors who are pulling the feed from the RV parks cable, I spent several hours last year at a KOA trying to figure out why the cable signal was so poor. Only to find out that everyone had the same problem. Too weak of a signal trying to be split too many times in the RV park.
__________________
2013S22BH/2015 f-150 ecoboost
mnsunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 05:40 AM   #9
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 35
It Ended up being the Amp was on. I did not see the small button on the electrical outlet Dark cover plate. Thanks Again for all of your help with this.
__________________
2015 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab
2014 Zinger 33BH
kbravo1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 09:48 AM   #10
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 159
We have cable in the park we are at and it came thru very pixilated- no HD on many channels. We've only had this unit for 10 months and in that time we had our Directv Sat account suspended. Our suspension expired so we to had to setup our dish. We had our last 5er for over 6 yrs and could easily set it up ourselves, however after working on the setup for more hrs then I'd care to admit, we could not figure it out. We had to get Directv to come and do an install. It took the tech several hours to finally get the two tvs inside to work independently with separate receivers. He told us he had to use what was there, but it wasn't wired correctly.
We requested a schematic from CR and of course the one we received was not for our Rushmore model. It may as well be in Greek! We are thankfully enjoying Sat tv, but boy was it an effort. It should/could have been so much easier. We're still unsure where the splitter is located, or why we do not have an exterior Sat feed connection and instead, two cable connections in the docking station. The wiring has definitely been installed incorrectly.
__________________
R & M Hewitt
Dobie Girl, Elise & Dobie Boy, Chiron
2014 CR Rushmore Lincoln
2016 High Country SILVERADO 2500HD DURAMAX/Allison
RJHewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 01:45 PM   #11
Full Time Camper
 
Loneoak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Winchester, ON
Posts: 1,177
We have found that the antenna on our Cruiser is pretty useless. It is mounted on the low part of the fifth wheel behind the a/c unit. We are in Florida for the winter so we purchased an antenna at the flea market and attached it (on top of a pole) to the ladder. The wire feeds in through the slide. It picks up the local stations very well. We also have a satellite dish which we brought with us from Canada so we can get the stuff from at home.
__________________

2012 Cruiser Sahara 330SS
2015 F250 Super Duty diesel
Loneoak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×