Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-01-2015, 08:19 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

Do I have any hope parking my ST270BH next to my house?

I have limited towing experience, so I feel this will be a big challenge to get the trailer parked so close to my house. Friends with experience say I'll be able to do it, just will take some time at first.

There is 10' of parking space from side of house to neighbor's fence. The ditch in front is very shallow, I'll fill with rocks to make it almost level. It would be a lot simpler if I extended the culvert all the way to make it one big driveway, but I'm a few years away from attempting that ($$).

What do you guys think?

Here are some pictures:

PokerMunkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 08:30 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

Here's a few things that may be informative. We park our fifth wheel partly right beside the house, and our driveway where, it goes over a fairly deep ditch is quite narrow. It fans out after the ditch. We are able to get it in there fine every time. We use walkie talkies to communicate. If that situation isn't bad enough, I should mention that we back it in on our blind side. If we were to go in the other way we would have to go out of our way to get there or turn it around down the road.

Our daughter also backs hers in beside the house, and the last time she did it her nine year old daughter spotted for her, also using walkie talkies. She also backs in on her blind side, because she lives on a dead end street.

Another thing - travel trailers are easier to back than 5ers because when you make a correction the TT reacts immediately. A 5er has to think about it a bit before reacting, giving you just enough time to over-correct.

2012 Cruiser Sahara 330SS
2015 F250 Super Duty diesel
Loneoak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 08:35 AM   #3
Full Time Camper