Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2010, 05:48 PM   #1
New Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 6
I have a 2010 CF32BL, love the camper but seem to be having power issues and triping breakers. Anyone had this problems mostly the 30/20 breaker? Having to run the HW and fridge on gas alot. Friendly camper recently told me he was having the same issues, it was fixed by taking the air off the 30/20 and putting on a single 20amp. Would appreciate any advice
ccarr00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 10:25 PM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 1,415
Your friend was right, I did this on our camper. The breaker gets to hot and the heat makes the breaker trip. You heed a square D 20 amp breaker.
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:05 AM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
fhenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ms
Posts: 2,739
Yep that is what I did

__________________
Frank and Janet Henn
2017 380MBH pushing a 2007 Dodge
CDT with a six speed Automatic
Traveling with Hoover and Rainbow the wonder dogs and now with Sunshine the rescue Schnauzer.
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 10:46 AM   #4
Family Vacation Member
 
SWAILES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 138
I have had a few issues popping breakers as you described how did you add the breaker and do you have a picture of the finished product? I was thinking about changing the panel and using a pony panel in its place but after looking at the amout of wire considering the 120 voly and 12 volt my plan changed.
__________________
LIFE'S A JOURNEY PACK WELL



CF33LF PROVINCIAL EDITION
SWAILES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:09 PM   #5
Full Time Camper
 
fhenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ms
Posts: 2,739
In my panel I had room to add more breakers, so I did took very little time

__________________
Frank and Janet Henn
2017 380MBH pushing a 2007 Dodge
CDT with a six speed Automatic
Traveling with Hoover and Rainbow the wonder dogs and now with Sunshine the rescue Schnauzer.
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:13 PM   #6
Full Time Camper
 
salda01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE Wi.
Posts: 704


Here's the link to the post in which this was discussed and the breaker that I used. You should have at least 1 open slot if not 2 in your current panel, just break out the plastic covers below the breakers.

<DIV id=ms__id47>

http://www.crossroadsrv.com/forum/fo...ID=19744#19744
__________________
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/m...1/rally5-1.jpg

'07 F250 Diesel Crew Cab 4x4

'08 CF30QB

Reese Signature Slider 18k Hitch
salda01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:22 PM   #7
New Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 6
Thanks for all the post and information, will get after this project on the weekend
ccarr00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 01:41 PM   #8
Family Vacation Member
 
SWAILES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 138


Thanks
__________________
LIFE'S A JOURNEY PACK WELL



CF33LF PROVINCIAL EDITION
SWAILES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 03:04 PM   #9
Seasonal Camper
 
ClassicHammond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Franklin Wisc.
Posts: 274
What happens is the more often the breaker trips the weaker the spring gets, then it trips easier.
__________________
Tom&Denice, Carmel,Betsy, Brighton&Daisy(Rescued Cockers)YukonXL 2500 8.1 4:10 CT31GR http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/k...ofP1010009.jpg
ClassicHammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 03:18 PM   #10
New Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 6
Need ideas again, i put the AC on a seperate breaker this weekend, and it seems to be working, only thing is i put a amp meter on it and with the AC running, refridge, i turned the microwave on and was drawing 38 amps, and tripped it off when i switched the waterheater on. I'm think my camper should be a 50amp not 30amp. What should i do?
ccarr00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 05:31 PM   #11
jeb
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 130
Are you saying the AC breaker tripped? Are all those other items also on it? If not, that breaker should not be affected at all by other loads and if they are, it's wired incorrectly.

At this point, it may be wise to request the assistance of an electrician.





__________________
2008 Paradise Pointe

2008 Chevy 2500 with Duramax/Allison

1 wife

3 cats

and a family of racoons.
jeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 12:45 AM   #12
Full Time Camper
 
artgpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 780
Do you have a 30 or 50 amp shore power cord attached to your RV?
__________________


Art and Karen
2013 Itasca Sunstar 35F, 2013 Ford C Max toad.
170 nights in 2013
132 in 2014
artgpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 01:38 AM   #13
Full Time Camper
 
salda01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE Wi.
Posts: 704
My unit is 30amps, and I can't run the A/C, Micro, HW and the DW blow dryer at the same time without tripping the main breaker.

Please confirm if you have 50amp service or 30 to your unit. That would help a lot. Also are sure you have enough juice running to your unit? Not using standard electrical cords to bring the power in and proper amp / volts at the pedestal.


__________________
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/m...1/rally5-1.jpg

'07 F250 Diesel Crew Cab 4x4

'08 CF30QB

Reese Signature Slider 18k Hitch
salda01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 02:32 AM   #14
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bradley, Il
Posts: 1,018
With 30 amp service I would suggest you run your hot water heater on lp. The a/c, microwave and DW's hair blower will be about a full load. If you want to keep hot water on electric turn it off when not used, it will stay hot for a long time.
__________________
Dale & Carol
Bradley, Il
2007 F-250
2010 CF30SK Patriot
2007 CF30SK
dalemac377 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 03:20 AM   #15
Full Time Camper
 
Stan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 1,994
Dale is correct, you can't run everything at once. It's a bit confusing by your posts as to which of your breakers tripped. You should have a 30amp main breaker, and everything else is on a 20 or 15 amp breakers (if you have a 30 amp system) If the 30 is tripping, then you are drawing too much with all the systems running. If the 20a for the a/c is tripping and the a/c is the only appliance on that breaker then there may be an issue with the a/c.

__________________
Stan and Terri
Oak Harbor, WA
2008 Chevy 2500HD D/A
2007 Cruiser CF30SK
Glide Ride Pin Box
Reese 16K Slider
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 02:45 PM   #16
New Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 6
No its a standard camper 30 amp cord
ccarr00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 05:02 PM   #17
jeb
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 130
Is the main breaker tripping and not the A/C breaker? That would make more sense.

__________________
2008 Paradise Pointe

2008 Chevy 2500 with Duramax/Allison

1 wife

3 cats

and a family of racoons.
jeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 11:04 PM   #18
Seasonal Camper
 
ClassicHammond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Franklin Wisc.
Posts: 274
The DW knows she needs to turn off the A/C when using her blowdryer, tends to blow the breaker on the post.
__________________
Tom&Denice, Carmel,Betsy, Brighton&Daisy(Rescued Cockers)YukonXL 2500 8.1 4:10 CT31GR http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/k...ofP1010009.jpg
ClassicHammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 05:36 AM   #19
jeb
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 130


Quote:
Originally Posted by ccarr00
No its a standard camper 30 amp cord
If you are using a 30A cord, all you will get is a 30A circuit and you won't be able to take advantage of the 50A circuits the camper is equipped with. If the main is tripping when you add more than 30A of use, that is normal.

You will need a 50A source and a 50A cord to utilize 50A in the camper.



__________________
2008 Paradise Pointe

2008 Chevy 2500 with Duramax/Allison

1 wife

3 cats

and a family of racoons.
jeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:04 AM   #20
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 891
The 50 amp source and cord will not help, as the main breakerin the camperis 30 amp.

Do not run all that stuff at once.
seabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×