Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2011, 07:55 AM   #1
New Camper
 
Ramble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location:
Posts: 6
During my first time out in my 19 ft. Crossroads I was using the recently installed heat strip and the elecricity suddenly went off. I had nothing else requiring electricity on. After checking, I discovered a circut breaker had tripped. I reset it and had no more electricalinterruptions.



Now I am most curious as to the cause and wonder if any of you folks have any answers. The campground was an older and my first reaction was something on their end might have happened. Now I am wondering.



__________________
Are we there yet?
Ramble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 08:42 AM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
salda01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE Wi.
Posts: 704
Which breaker tripped? The trailer or CG. If the CG I would think poor power quality if your trailer maybe to much heat being generated between the HW (if running on elec) and the A/C heat strip. I know I experienced the A/c tripping until I put the HW on it's own. It's a really simple fix. Do a search on this site you should find the breaker type and how too.Edited by: salda01
__________________
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/m...1/rally5-1.jpg

'07 F250 Diesel Crew Cab 4x4

'08 CF30QB

Reese Signature Slider 18k Hitch
salda01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 09:28 AM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 1,415
I believe it's a 15 amp squareD breaker
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 12:27 PM   #4
New Camper
 
Ramble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location:
Posts: 6
I think you are right about the hot water heater being on electric at the same time heat strip was on and causing a circut break. It had tripped inside the trailer. I had run the heat strip the day before without problems. Is that unusual?

The heat is my hotwater heater is set so the water is Very Hot. Is there a way I can lower the temp. in it or must I take it back to the dealer? I see no gauges I can change.

Would that have anything to dowith the tripped breaker?.



I truly appreciate your advice.
__________________
Are we there yet?
Ramble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 12:33 PM   #5
Full Time Camper
 
Russb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
If you have an Atwood water heater here isan adjustable thermostat for the water heater. It is simple to install. There is a video of the installation on youtube.

http://www.dan-marcrvparts.com/adeamoatwahe.html
__________________
Russ
Forney,TX
2010 Cruiser CTX CT29RLX
2009 F-150XLT
Russb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 10:35 AM   #6
Full Time Camper
 
salda01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE Wi.
Posts: 704
IMHO- you may want to think twice about reducing the temp setting on your HW. The higher temp setting will allow for more hot water over a long period of time due to the mixing. When you pull hot water, the system is mixing in cold water to lengthen the hot water time.

Perform the circuit breaker split and go from there. It's really simple just be sure to disconnect all power including the battery or be really careful not to touch the wires.

__________________
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/m...1/rally5-1.jpg

'07 F250 Diesel Crew Cab 4x4

'08 CF30QB

Reese Signature Slider 18k Hitch
salda01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 11:27 AM   #7
Full Time Camper
 
Russb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
We have a 10 gallon water heater and haven't had any problems running out of hot water since installing the adjustable thermostat. 140 degree water is just too hot. I would like the manufacturers to use single lever faucets if they are going to continue with the fixed thermostats.My previous unit with an Atwood heater had warning labels on the backside of the heater advising of the danger of 140 deg water.
__________________
Russ
Forney,TX
2010 Cruiser CTX CT29RLX
2009 F-150XLT
Russb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 01:54 AM   #8
New Camper
 
Ramble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location:
Posts: 6
Thanks for your answers and good advice. I recently talked to the dealer and he thought the circut breaker tripped because the heat strip was running at the same time the hot water heater decided to produce more heat. Aslo- it would probable happen again. I wonder is that holds true for running the air conditioner and the hot water heater at the same time. At some point I think I will probably have the thermostat installed, but be cautious in using it.



It wouold be unusual for me to take my little guy (trailer) to a cold climate. The heat strip is really all I need to stay warm. I have a gas heater, but have neverneeded it.
__________________
Are we there yet?
Ramble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 03:32 AM   #9
jeb
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 130
One of the reasons for having high hot water temps is that it requires less hot water to mix with cold water to get to the proper temperature. By setting the HWH high, it effectively increases the amount of mixed water produced without increasing the size of the HWH. IMO, as long as people know the water is scalding hot, it's not a major problem but there are too many times when people (kids and elderly) don't know that will "burn" them (pardon the pun).

Perhaps the factory should set the temp lower and allow the user to increase it if they wish to. In any case, all HWHs should have an adjustable thermostat.


__________________
2008 Paradise Pointe

2008 Chevy 2500 with Duramax/Allison

1 wife

3 cats

and a family of racoons.
jeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 05:42 AM   #10
Full Time Camper
 
salda01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE Wi.
Posts: 704




Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramble
I wonder is that holds true for running the air conditioner and the hot water heater at the same time.
It will hold true if not more when running the a/c. While running the a/c and wh on electric was the only time I experienced a breaker trip. My understanding is more the breaker trips the weaker it gets, resulting in more trips. Which is why I separated the wh to it's own breaker. I usually run the wh on both gas and elec. for the initial heat up then switch over to elec. I have a tough time using gas when I'm already paying for electric at the site. Another reason why I don't care how high the temp is set on the w/h.
Edited by: salda01
__________________
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/m...1/rally5-1.jpg

'07 F250 Diesel Crew Cab 4x4

'08 CF30QB

Reese Signature Slider 18k Hitch
salda01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 11:47 AM   #11
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Normal
Posts: 634
Heading other folks advice, I did the circuit breaker mod right after I bought my trailer and separated out all of my high amp draw devices on to their own circuit. I have not had any issues with breakers tripping due to the electrical demand. During the colder times, I almost exclusively use a pelonis disc furnace that can draw almost 13-amps at full power.

__________________


2015 Rushmore Springfield
Disc Brake upgrade, Goodyear G614 tire upgrade
RV FLEX-ARMOR roof, Mor-Ryde IS suspension

2017 F350 Dually 4x4 6.7 Bronze Fire
gossamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 12:08 PM   #12
Seasonal Camper
 
KennyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 355
I've read a lot of threads on this forum about breakers blowing because of the AC. I followed the advice of others and separated out the AC onto it's own 20 AMP breaker. Just for grins I decided to check the draw on that line. With my AC running full blast on high it only draws 10 AMPS! That doesn't seem like a lot to get terribly concerned about.
Am I missing something?
__________________
Ken and Marilyn, 2010 CF30SK, 2003 F250 V10 www.runnerduck.com

http://www.runnerduck.com/images/dev...andtrailer.jpg

KennyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 01:16 PM   #13
hhh
Seasonal Camper
 
hhh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kzoo MI
Posts: 336
Put that AC on the same circuit as a 1200 watt microwave and you are now drawing 20 amps.



__________________
http://www.tgifrv.com/wp-content/gal.../rigsigpic.jpg

'11 CF285RL Patriot - '08 GMC 3500HD D/A CC LB Dually - Yamaha Zuma 125

tgif: let's RV
hhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 01:19 PM   #14
Full Time Camper
 
Hunter11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 2,510
"With my AC running full blast on high it only draws 10 AMPS"



But what did it draw when the compressor first kicked on?
__________________
17 Chevy 3500 DRW 4X4
16 Mobile Suites 36RSSB4
2 Mini Dachshunds
Hunter11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 02:38 PM   #15
Full Time Camper
 
salda01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE Wi.
Posts: 704


Also as the systems are on, heat will generate from the current and also result in a tripped circuit, in which you'll need to wait until it cools before resetting.



The seperation of the HW and AC was well worth the 10mins in laborEdited by: salda01
__________________
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/m...1/rally5-1.jpg

'07 F250 Diesel Crew Cab 4x4

'08 CF30QB

Reese Signature Slider 18k Hitch
salda01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×