Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2013, 09:47 AM   #1
Weekend Camper
 
Buddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 71
I already have a super quite generator that I want to use on my Redwood 36FB. I plugged my 50 amp cord to the 240v/30amp receptacle on the generator. I'm showing a ground fault, is this a problem since I can't put an earth ground down everywhere I go. I tried grounding to frame, it still shows ground fault. Any sugestions?
__________________
2012 Ford F450 Lariat, 2013 Redwood 36FB Red and Black Painted.
Buddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 09:54 AM   #2
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 144


I think if your 30 amp, 240 volt generator outlet is a 3 wire , there will not be a neutral there but only the 2 hot and a ground.
carl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 10:20 AM   #3
Weekend Camper
 
Buddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl

I think if your 30 amp, 240 volt generator outlet is a 3 wire , there will not be a neutral there but only the 2 hot and a ground.
Jeff
I have 4 prong on both the genny and RV. I guess since the genny grounding wire isn't connected to a copper grounding rod it showing opened ground. Built in onans are just grounded to frame and I don't see the difference.
__________________
2012 Ford F450 Lariat, 2013 Redwood 36FB Red and Black Painted.
Buddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 10:24 AM   #4
Weekend Camper
 
Buddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 71
The generator is so quite and will run everything, it would be a shame if I can't use it.
__________________
2012 Ford F450 Lariat, 2013 Redwood 36FB Red and Black Painted.
Buddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:04 AM   #5
Full Time Camper
 
cw3jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 688


check the ground terminal on the generator 240 plug to the generator frame with a multimeter set to ohms. make sure it is not running. you may just have a loose connection in the plug wireing. an open ground at the plug would give you this fault.
__________________

Jason & Wendy
2014 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L PSD
2015 Keystone Montana 3711FL
B&W Patriot 16K Fifth Wheel Hitch
cw3jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:27 PM   #6
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 144

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddy
The generator is so quite and will run everything, it would be a shame if I can't use it.
I Looked at the specs for your generator Buddy. It is a real nice unit and should do the job for you!
Be sure you have selected the 120/240 volt setting on your switch and wired your connector plugs correctly and it should work. If the genny has a 3-wire, 240 volt, 30 amp.twist-lock outlet which means the black & red wires of your 50 amp trailer cord should connect to the 2 similaropenings [brass terminals]and the white cord wire to the prong with the hook shape [silver or green terminal].
If it has a 4-wire outlet, connect black & red as above, white to silver & green to the hook shape or green terminal.
Hope this helps!
carl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.