Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2013, 11:24 AM   #1
Weekend Camper
 
NCFUN2GO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Havelock, NC
Posts: 25
I have a Honda EU2000 that I run my Cruiser with (except the AC), using a plug into the generator that converts to the 30 amp plug from the 5th wheel. No problems.



I am going to go to a 50 amp Fifer - is there a plug out there to insert into the generator that will convert to a 50 amp without adding a second plug?



Thanx.
__________________
Bob and Lynn

2008 CF30SK

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

5.9 Cummins.

2010 Candy red Mustang convert

http://i886.photobucket.com/albums/a...IMG_0969-1.jpg
NCFUN2GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 12:20 PM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
Stan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 1,980
I am pretty sure there are 50 to 30 amp plug adapters but you will only have power to 1/2 your rig (whatever is on the electrical leg the adapter powers to). A 50 amp service uses two 120v legs and a 30 amp service uses one 120v leg.
__________________
Stan and Terri
Oak Harbor, WA
2008 Chevy 2500HD D/A
2007 Cruiser CF30SK
Glide Ride Pin Box
Reese 16K Slider
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 11:23 PM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
Hamops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 508

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan
I am pretty sure there are 50 to 30 amp plug adapters but you will only have power to 1/2 your rig (whatever is on the electrical leg the adapter powers to). A 50 amp service uses two 120v legs and a 30 amp service uses one 120v leg.

I thought that the 30/50 adapter energized both phases of the 50 amp panel in the trailer. It would only make sense that would be the situation. That way, all 120 volt circuits would be energized. Only 240 volt loads (if any) would not work.
__________________
Cheers
Helen & George VE3INB and Max (Bichon Frise)
2006 Silverado 2500HD D/A,
2006 Cruiser CF30SK
Hamops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:49 AM   #4
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bradley, Il
Posts: 1,018


You are correct. The 50 to 30 adapter does energize both legs of the 50 amp panel with one 30 amp supply. I have used this type adapter for years on my 50 amp trailer when only 30 amp was available. It sure limits how much stuff you can operate at the same time.
__________________
Dale & Carol
Bradley, Il
2007 F-250
2010 CF30SK Patriot
2007 CF30SK
dalemac377 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 04:15 AM   #5
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,012
Mine uses the Marinco plug in the side of the trailer. I can plug in and use the 50A cord(heavy) or I have pigtail 2 adapters that plug in. One goes to a 30A RV plug and I can use the 30A cord when that's all that is available. The other goes to a regular 120v plug to use with normal extension cords for when it's parked away from my normal slot at the house. Naturally this one only powers all the accys, no AC.

Go to http://www.rvpartscenter.com/prodsel...DID=65&CID=222 and look at #36686 and #41028.

I don't think I paid that much but shop around, that's to give an idea.
__________________
Clif and Millie
Ozzie (half a dog tall & 2 dogs long)
Mabank, TX
2009 Ford Lariat F350 SRW CC Diesel
2013 Cruiser CF305SK Patriot Edition
avvidclif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 11:37 AM   #6
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 144


Buy a standard 120 volt 15 amp male cord plug, 50 amp female cordconnector to match the rv inlet, and desired length of 12 gauge 3 wire outdoor cord. Connect green wire to green terminal, white wire to silver terminal & black wire to brass terminal [jumper the two brass terminalson 50 amp end]. Then you don't need adapters!
carl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:04 PM   #7
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: florida
Posts: 189
Hamops, there are not any 240v loads. There are two 120v volt circuits (L1 AND L2). A 30 to 50 amp does tie the two legs together so everything will work. If you have two A/C, then you can only run one at a time.
shoe2728 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:59 PM   #8
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 173
ok, can I use tyhe 30 amp plug on my shore cord to plug into the 50 amp receptacle? Do I need an adaptor? My travel trailer is rated at 30 amps....
Z1 owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 01:08 PM   #9
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: florida
Posts: 189
You would need a 50 amp male to 30 amp female rv adapter. That way when you plug into the 50 amp receptacle you are only using one leg to feed your 30 amp trailer. Not sure why you would want to plug into a 50 amp, unless that is only thing available at the time. Like this one at camping world.

http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...h-handle/57723
<h1 itemprop="name" style="margin-bottom:-2px;">
</h1>

shoe2728 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 01:42 PM   #10
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 173
It's the only site available for this weekend.

Z1 owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.