Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2016, 09:03 PM   #1
New Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 5
Need Help Operating Furnace

Hi there,

We bought a 2014 Maple Country rv trailer last year and we love it! We moved over the summer this year though, and we have lost our owner's manuals (they are buried in our boxes somewhere.)

Is there anyone who knows how to operate the furnace for these trailers? I have turned the middle switch to 'Heat' and put the fan on 'Auto' and have upped the temperature. The problem is, the furnace kicks in only for a few minutes and then shuts off. We live in Alberta, Canada and it gets below freezing at night and our kids want to sleep in it tonight.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Please? LOL

Thanks so much.
Burdbunch5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:07 PM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
Papa-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: N.C. Mountains
Posts: 1,512
Is the gas on?
__________________
*2016 CAF25SE Cruiser Aire 5er/*Joined 2010 *Changed Username and lost Post #'s -2012.
*Traded Campers and Left Crossroads -2012.
*Purchased New 5er & Came back May-2016
*Ted & Tricia (Mimi and Boo - Poodles)
I have tried to live my life so that my family would love me and my friends would respect me. The others can do whatever the Hell they please!” —John Wayne
Papa-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:09 PM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
Papa-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: N.C. Mountains
Posts: 1,512
And you might need to light the stove gas burners and let it purge any air in the lines.
__________________
*2016 CAF25SE Cruiser Aire 5er/*Joined 2010 *Changed Username and lost Post #'s -2012.
*Traded Campers and Left Crossroads -2012.
*Purchased New 5er & Came back May-2016
*Ted & Tricia (Mimi and Boo - Poodles)
I have tried to live my life so that my family would love me and my friends would respect me. The others can do whatever the Hell they please!” —John Wayne
Papa-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:12 PM   #4
New Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 5
Hope I don't make myself look stupid - we are totally new to camping. We are running it electrically right now. Do we still have to have the gas on? I understood we could run it either with electricity or by using the gas.
Burdbunch5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:22 PM   #5
Seasonal Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Tn
Posts: 384
The furnace is gas but does need 120V to run its blower. Turn your stove on and light the burners, once lit, you have removed most of the air from the gas lines.
Then try to fire the furnace again.

On an older camper i had the AC unit would produce MILD heat but it was the gas furnace that really cranked out the BTUs of warmth.
__________________
Burgy
(Kevin and Lisa)
2008 Nissan Titan
2015 ST270BH
http://burgpath.us/photos/index.php?cat=13
Burgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:26 PM   #6
New Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 5
Thanks so much! We really appreciate the tip. We'll give that a try. We didn't realize we had to have the gas/propane on too, even though we have the trailer plugged in. Fingers crossed this will work. Lol

Thanks again!
Burdbunch5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:29 PM   #7
Seasonal Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Tn
Posts: 384
Remember that the ac blows air from ducts above your head. Furnace from ducts at your feet, on the floor and under the fridge. When the furnace is on the AC unit will be off.
__________________
Burgy
(Kevin and Lisa)
2008 Nissan Titan
2015 ST270BH
http://burgpath.us/photos/index.php?cat=13
Burgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:31 PM   #8
New Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 5
Lol....believe me - no AC needed up here this time of year. Lol. Hubby is out turning on the gas as we speak, and doing what you suggested. It totally makes sense and I bet you have solved our problem. Thank you so much!! Greatly appreciated!
Burdbunch5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:38 PM   #9
Seasonal Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Tn
Posts: 384
You're welcome. Let us know the results. Hopefully I'm right.
__________________
Burgy
(Kevin and Lisa)
2008 Nissan Titan
2015 ST270BH
http://burgpath.us/photos/index.php?cat=13
Burgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:43 PM   #10
New Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Alberta
Posts: 5
The furnace is working like a charm! You were absolutely right! And it's heating the trailer rather quickly too! You have no idea what this means to us. We are a blended family, so we only get my hubby's kids every other weekend. It means so much to them to be able to 'camp' in the yard tonight - and it means even more to us. We are so grateful that you reached out with your advice. Truly, we didn't have a clue. Lol. Nice to see good people are still out there! Thanks again! (If I knew how to use the emoticons here, I would...lol)
Burdbunch5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:54 PM   #11
Seasonal Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Tn
Posts: 384
You are very welcome. Yes, that little heater will RUN you out of the camper in no time. There's also a vent between the queen bed and the back of the TV on the floor. It will make your feet sweat like its a hot summer day.

Enjoy your night camping!!

(Click Post Reply instead of Quick reply. )
__________________
Burgy
(Kevin and Lisa)
2008 Nissan Titan
2015 ST270BH
http://burgpath.us/photos/index.php?cat=13
Burgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 06:49 AM   #12
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DFW, TexUS
Posts: 1,032
Good deal _ way to help out !

You deserve some 'Atta Boys'
__________________
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 08:51 AM   #13
Full Time Camper
 
harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Belle River , Ontario
Posts: 1,654
just a little correction for the furnace...it needs 12v (not 120v ) to run the fan , you do no need it plugged in to work as it only needs propane/battery (12v) to work. Plugging it in charges the battery while it is plugged in.
you may want to use a micro furnace or some kind of electric space heater so you do not burn up to much propane.
__________________


It was a rainy few days at Algonquin Prov park...tarps kept us dry.
Wayne --Belle River (Windsor), Ontario
2013 Sunset Trail Reserve 25RB..
2015 White Chev Silverado 2500HD 4x4 (6.0 l gasser)
2003 Mountain Star 890SBRX Truck Camper
harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 09:22 AM   #14
Full Time Camper
 
Papa-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: N.C. Mountains
Posts: 1,512
No question is stupid. We have all been Newby's at one time and had to learn just like you. Just wish I'd had this forum years ago to help me. Glad it was the gas. Enjoy
__________________
*2016 CAF25SE Cruiser Aire 5er/*Joined 2010 *Changed Username and lost Post #'s -2012.
*Traded Campers and Left Crossroads -2012.
*Purchased New 5er & Came back May-2016
*Ted & Tricia (Mimi and Boo - Poodles)
I have tried to live my life so that my family would love me and my friends would respect me. The others can do whatever the Hell they please!” —John Wayne
Papa-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×