Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-30-2018, 11:49 AM   #1
Family Vacation Member

Travel Trailer to Class A

Hi,

We are considering upgrading to a Class A motorhome from the current Travel Trailer we have.

The biggest reason is we want to take longer trips and not have everyone (myself, wife, 2 kids and a dog) crammed into the cab of my pickup.

I know there are many options out there; I am just beginning my search.

But there are some general questions I have first.

1. Gas or Diesel? I currently have a gas pickup, but I'm thinking Diesel is best for power. We live in NC btw - not very cold. I hear Diesel is difficult in cold weather.

2. I've gotten used to hauling the 30' TT behind me and backing it up. How is the Class A different in driving since the front wheels are directly under me and not out front?

3. From my own unit and from reading this forum, I know that the Quality Control on many Travel Trailers is not up to a high standard. Though I have personally been very lucky for the most part.

Is the QC on these much more expensive Class A rigs better?

Thanks!
Mike
nachtmsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 03:09 PM   #2
Site Team

1. A diesel pusher is nice, but depending on what you get, they can be very expensive. I wouldn't worry to much about the cold with these new diesels. Besides, you're not suppose to be going into the cold if you own one of those. You're suppose to be heading for the warm climates.

2. Don't think you would have to much of a problem getting use to driving one. When/if you start looking at them the dealers have always allowed me to take the rig I was looking at out on the highway. What was always a pain in the butt for me was we always at a vehicle in tow. You have to be careful and not get yourself into a situation where you have to back up. That toad doesn't steer good backing up.