Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2015, 01:17 PM   #1
New Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: in
Posts: 3
TV antenna

We bought a 2013 Z71 crossroads trailer, we were trying to see if our tv worked that we put in there. we plugged the tv in , it has a build in dvd player, we wanted to see if the tv part worked, it said no signal. there is also a plug that looks like a cigarette lighter plug, we cant figure out how to get the tv part to work, does anyone know

Thanks
dmoq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 01:23 PM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
cw3jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 688
Are you using the roof antenna or cable? If using the antenna, make sure the booster is on and use the menu on your TV to scan for channels on the TV input

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
__________________

Jason & Wendy
2014 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L PSD
2015 Keystone Montana 3711FL
B&W Patriot 16K Fifth Wheel Hitch
cw3jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 01:44 PM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
Loneoak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Winchester, ON
Posts: 1,177
X2 on the booster, but keep in mind these stationary antennas do not receive as well as the crank-up kind. When we are in Florida, we have a separate antenna that we attach to the ladder with a pole and clamps so we can properly receive all the stations we want. Of course we take it down when we move the rig home.
__________________

2012 Cruiser Sahara 330SS
2015 F250 Super Duty diesel
Loneoak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 02:09 PM   #4
New Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: in
Posts: 3
we raised the roof antenna , we have a coax cable, and plugged that in , we were trying to figure out what that plug was that looked like a cigarette lighter plug, but I'm pretty sure it wasn't .
dmoq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 02:21 PM   #5
Full Time Camper
 
MartyinSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SC
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoq View Post
we raised the roof antenna , we have a coax cable, and plugged that in , we were trying to figure out what that plug was that looked like a cigarette lighter plug, but I'm pretty sure it wasn't .
Right there on that coax/cigarette lighter plate there is a little button that must be pressed, and the green light next to it will come on, in order for the antenna to work. It is a booster, but is needed for all but the very strongest signals. However, make sure that booster is OFF if you are hooking up to a cable site. The amplified noise of the lowered antenna will override the cable signal.
BTW, that IS a cigarette light plug, to offer you a 12volt outlet for the TV. Some TVs, like ours, run on 12Volts. We don't need or use a 120VAC adapter, and so ours (with DVD) will run on battery power, even without shore power.
__________________
Marty and Martha
2015 Z-1 211RD
2012 Nissan Titan
Dalzell SC
MartyinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 02:31 PM   #6
Full Time Camper
 
Loneoak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Winchester, ON
Posts: 1,177
What a bummer! We don't have a 12V outlet behind our TV or anywhere else I can find.
__________________

2012 Cruiser Sahara 330SS
2015 F250 Super Duty diesel
Loneoak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 02:50 PM   #7
Full Time Camper
 
MartyinSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SC
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loneoak View Post
What a bummer! We don't have a 12V outlet behind our TV or anywhere else I can find.
Yes, when we bought our new X-1, we found one WITH the type of outlet we wanted. Not all had them; many offered 120 VAC outlets but no 12V. The shame of it is that the little booster amp behind the coax plate needs 12 VDC to operate, so it wouldn't have cost much more to add the outlet. BTW, if you do have one of these, that outlet doesn't carry much amperage. It is fused to only a couple of amps, as I recall from the Wineguard literature.
__________________
Marty and Martha
2015 Z-1 211RD
2012 Nissan Titan
Dalzell SC
MartyinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 05:28 PM   #8
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: wi
Posts: 47
Our old camper, a Hi-Lo has separate cable connections for the roof antenna and for the campground cable. It could be that your new trailer has separate connections and one cannot be used for the other.
allenr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 07:26 PM   #9
Full Time Camper
 
Tim D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: So IL
Posts: 1,811
You also must go into the tv menu and select scan channels. You will have to do this at every new campground you go to. Plus make sure booster is on as others have stated. Hope that helps.
__________________

Tim
13 ST25RB
08 F-250 SC 6.8L XLT 4x4
Tim D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 07:56 AM   #10
New Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: in
Posts: 3
thx everyone
dmoq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.