Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2013, 01:44 PM   #1
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 16
TV Output/Input Cable Madness

I have a new '13 Elevation 3612, and being completely new to RVing, allowed myself to be rushed through an already pathetic "walk-through," and am now suffering the consequences of my own ignorance. I've managed to figure several things out with the help of this forum and others, but this one's got me stumped.

I'm trying to get a cable signal while in an RV park, and can't get a signal of any sort. There're 3 outputs in the cabinet behind the TV, and four that could be the correct remote-selected input on the TV. None of the random combinations I've tried have resulted in anything, and the Owner's Manual strikes me as one written for a different TV.

I understand there're a million different TVs and cable/antenna combinations out there, and that this may well be a long-shot because of that, but y'all are the only chance I've got. Either I find an answer here, or I give up using cable altogether...or I just burn the whole thing down and start over, being sure to get a proper demonstration during the next walk-through.

Thank you all, and Happy Turkey Day..
__________________
2013 Elevation 3612
2017 GMC 3500 DRW
Meathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
Site Team
 
mark5w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,719
Have you changed the tv setup to cable or antenna, what ever one you are using???
Try menu or settings on you tv remote to set it.
__________________
Mark & Susan
Lehighton, Pennsylvania

'13 Cruiser Patriot 335SS - '13 Ford F150 SCREW - PullRite Superslide - Roadmaster Active Suspension
Member - "Northeast Adventures RV Rally Group" & "Mason-Dixon Bunch"
mark5w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 05:40 PM   #3
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark5w View Post
Have you changed the tv setup to cable or antenna, what ever one you are using???
Try menu or settings on you tv remote to set it.
The two options it lists in the manual are "Air" and "Cable." I finally found that part of the menu, and it's set on Air, but won't allow me to change it to Cable. I re-tried all the connection combinations, in hopes that when a cable signal was detected, that option would become available. No such luck.
__________________
2013 Elevation 3612
2017 GMC 3500 DRW
Meathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 06:56 PM   #4
Full Time Camper
 
Russb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
On all the TV's that I have had I was able to switch between air and cable at any time. It shouldn't matter what the TV is connected to. However if it is set wrong no stations will be picked up. The TV should be set for cable. My RV has outside connections for cable and satellite and the same on the inside. Make sure the antenna booster is off when connected to cable.
__________________
Russ
Forney,TX
2010 Cruiser CTX CT29RLX
2009 F-150XLT
Russb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 06:47 AM   #5
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: GA
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ-Carol View Post
On all the TV's that I have had I was able to switch between air and cable at any time. It shouldn't matter what the TV is connected to. However if it is set wrong no stations will be picked up. The TV should be set for cable. My RV has outside connections for cable and satellite and the same on the inside. Make sure the antenna booster is off when connected to cable.
Ugh, you guys were right, it was all operator error. I still maintain that a decent set of instructions should've been included, but after some more fiddling, I've now got 26 channels.

Thanks.
__________________
2013 Elevation 3612
2017 GMC 3500 DRW
Meathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 09:36 AM   #6
Full Time Camper
 
BODERRVING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: VA
Posts: 589
Congratulations, Meathead, on your Elevation and on resolving your RV issues. Just goes to show that this forum is a great resource for all of us. I could not agree more on the PDI being more thorough. Another poster, Anaro, suggested that we video the PDI and I will definitely do that when we trade.
__________________
Larry & Jean - Chesterfield, VA
2014 Ram 3500 4x4 dually crew cab - Black
2010 Montana 3665RE - New to us
2013 Zinger 30KB - Sold
CrossroadsRV Rally 2013 & 2014 - Northeast Crossroads Rally 2014 - Mason-Dixon Rally 2014
BODERRVING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 01:11 PM   #7
Full Time Camper
 
ewbldavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 936
PDI's can always be more thorough. Glad you got it figured out!

Now...you bought a toy hauler...why are you fiddling with the TV?
__________________
Eddy & Brenda
Canton, OH
2015 Silverado HD 6.0L
2014 Zinger 32QB
ewbldavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Crossroads Registry

0

dsnrs

Odyssey

Kingfish58
Add your Crossroads RV
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.