Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-08-2017, 04:44 PM   #1
New Camper

Water heater issue

My water heater red light just started staying on all the time. The water is still running hot but the light was turning off on its own after heating. I'm a newbie at this and need some guidance on how to fix this. I don't now anything about this repair. I have an electric water heater. Thanks in advance. I need this fixed before winter, only a few months away. You help is really appreciated!
Millbabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 05:22 PM   #2
Family Vacation Member

I haven't heard of an RV with only an electric water heater, they are gas & electric. As for the light, it should only illuminate when the gas burner does not light after 3 tries. Is your gas turned on? Check to see if your switch for gas is also turned on. If on, turn it off and the light issue should go away.
To use it on gas, first turn the gas on at the tanks and then purge the system by firing up the stove for a couple minutes, then try the water heater on gas. Go outside and see if you can hear the burner or see a flame in the little window on the cover to the heater.
Cooper the Golden Retriever, and
Sam the black lab.
CampMacKay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 06:36 PM   #3
New Camper

Sorry, I didn't mean it was all electric. It's an electric start. We do have propane and it's been on for some time now. I checked to make sure it's full, it is. I did try turning the heater off both inside the RV and the outside in the actual unit. I see the pilot light on. Just can't figure why all of a sudden the inside red light stays on. Also why it only heats up if I do the restart and not for long. The red light goes off after the restart and then about an hour later it turns on and stays on.
Old 08-08-2017, 06:48 PM   #4
Full Time Camper