Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2014, 06:33 AM   #1
New Camper

Reese 5th Airborne Sidewinder Pin Box

I have a dodge 3500 Crew Cab with a 6'4" bed which is considered a short bed. I am thinking about changing the pin box on my 5th wheel to a Reese 5th Airborne Sidewinder for both smoother towing and up to 90 degree turn angles without taking off corner of truck and 5th wheel. I am new to this game as I had a Class A motor home before the 5th wheel. Anyone have experience with Reese pin boxes?
gorgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 07:04 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

What size/model is your 5th wheel. If it is a profiled front, you will find there isn't a huge or regular need for it. Something automatic like the sidewinder pin box or the actual automatic slider hitch like the PullRite Superglide can take the worries away if you feel you are going to get in a tight turning situation regularly.

I have used my Reese Elite slider hitch once in two years so I haven't seen the need for an automatic. A good pin box like the Demco or Mor/ryde are designed to reduce chucking. Again, with our unit, we have not had an issue with that and just have the TrailAir RotaFlex pin box with rubber cushioning. With air bags up in the truck we don't get any chucking. I also have a short bed, but the box is slightly larger at 6'9".

The 5th Airborne Sidewinder is a relatively new product and I haven't heard/spoke to anyone who has used one before.

Knowing what size / weight of trailer would help with some recommendations. Have you purchased a hitch yet? Just trying to get an idea of your whole setup.
Saskatoon, SK
WildWildWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 07:33 AM   #3
New Camper

Grand Design Solitude

The 5th Wheel will be a Grand Design Solitude 16000 lbs GVRW and 35" 11" long. A Trail-Air Roto-Flex Pin Box comes with unit.