Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-14-2016, 09:41 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

Unhappy Toyota 4runner w/ 195 Sunset Ultra Lite

I am very new to pulling a camping trailer. Started a few months ago by looking for the lightest trailer that would fit out needs. Landed on a 19 ft Crossroads Sunsetset ultra lite, just a tad over 4000 lbs. Then started researching tow vehicles. Did not want a truck because of the open storage area and the overall size. Ended up with a 2017 4Runner rated to pull 5000 lbs.

On my first trip through Wyoming driving from the St Louis area I had a lot of problems. Had a hard time keeping the rig moving at 60 MPH. At times I could not keep it up to 50 MPH. Several Toyota dealers and the trailer salesman confirmed the 4Runner was fine for the size trailer I purchased.

Have I made a very expensive mistake or do you think something is wrong with the Toyota?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Car and trailer.jpg (190.2 KB, 7 views)
Dennisf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 11:17 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

You have to remember once you add all the stuff to your trailer and 4 runner and the passengers most probably add 1000-1500 Lbs. All that little stuff adds up quick. Take it to a truck scales with everything loaded and I think you'd be surprised how much weight you've added. You might need to trade up on the truck. Salesmen will tell you anything to sell a truck or camper. Take it to the scales and let us know the results.

*I have tried to live my life so that my family would love me and my friends would respect me. The others can do whatever the Hell they please!” —John Wayne
Papa-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 12:07 PM   #3
Full Time Camper