Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-29-2014, 09:01 PM   #1
Weekend Camper

Black Tank Flush Concern

My 2013 Sunset Trail Reserve has a "Black Tank Flush". I am new to how this works. I figured that all I needed to do was hook it up and let it do it's thing. So I hooked up the hose and turned on the water. It ran for 2 minutes. I kept the gate valve open to see if it was working. (I have a clear plastic piece I attach between the dump opening and the flexible hose). You could hear something spaying inside but nothing was seen coming out through the clear plastic tube. Now I have heard about problems with these Black tank hoses coming loose where they attach to the tank. So I immediately thought I had a problem too. My black tank hose attachment comes in the outside wall below my bathroom sink and then goes under the shower pan. I don't know where it attaches to the black tank from there.

Question; With the enclosed underbelly will I immediately see water dripping below?

Could water be spraying in the area between the floor and the shower pan?

Do I need to close the gate valve and let the water do it's thing for a while and then open the gate valve?

Just not sure why I wasn't getting any immediate black tank water to flow out the dump opening with the water running into it.

Again I have never had this added feature before. Just looking for some answers as to whether this is normal and not to worry.
medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 11:09 PM   #2
Full Time Camper