Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-01-2018, 04:59 PM   #1
New Camper

Duct Work

I see a lot of post on A/C issues. I just bought a 2019 Sunset Trail 331BH. I never had the issue with my Rockwood but I can’t get my camper below 79 degrees on hot days. I have only 4 vents total in the camper 1 in the bunk house 2 in the main cab 1 in the master. All vents pushing air and 49degrees. I am curious about adding more vents to it. Please keep in mind I do HVAC for a living so I understand how it all works. Thanks in advanced for any and all responses
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 09:02 PM   #2
New Camper

I'm in the same boat. 40 foot fifth wheel, 5 vents. Seem to be blowing cold, but will get my temp gun out tomarrow. My trailer has a standard S track lay out (right duct goes to the rear of the trailer from the unit, left goes to the front.)

The entire right track has one vent.... One.....

When I decide to look at the duct work I quickly realized that 25% of the entrance to the ducts were blocked. When I fixed that flow increased greatly, but with five vents its a trivial improvement overall.
timmins02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 09:11 PM   #3
New Camper

Do you think it’s possible to open the ceiling and make an H Trac? I would love to add 4 vents.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 09:20 PM   #4
New Camper

Honestly I think it would be too much work., my only idea is add about 3 more vents to the rear ac track, add about 3 more to the front, the isolate the two tracks and duct the bedroom into the front track. It's not a perfect solution, but then my 15k would only be dealing with the great room (living room, dining room, kitchen) and my 13.5k would be dealing with the bedroom, tiny mid bunk, and bathroom)
Old 07-01-2018, 09:21 PM   #5
New Camper

Also I sent u a pm
Old 07-03-2018, 07:11 PM   #6
Weekend Camper