Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-02-2020, 11:14 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

Solar indecision

So I know solar is a pretty regular topic but we're all shut-ins so I figured I'd raise it again

We have a 2012 Sunset Trail M-29SS. I'd like to install 200-300W of solar on it for some 5-7 day dry-camping trips to support the furnace and light house loads. I've done the math and I'm pretty confident on my needs and system sizing. I plan to use flexible panels for the install.

Unless something better comes up, I'm going to go with the Eternabond tape method. It seems like a good fit for my goals and capability. I know my roof is not "walk on" so the install could be a little tricky - any tips y'all have on that would be appreciated.

What I'm undecided about is the wiring. I have plenty of experience with electrical in general, but very little with RV roofs and wire routing. If possible, a "no drill" option is obviously attractive, and it seems from past posts that a common option is to come down the fridge vent. That's on the opposite (starboard) side for my camper from my power panel, and I have an "insulated basement." I'm not thrilled about the idea of trying to drop the cover and do that routing. I don't have room to work on the camper at my house so this has to be managed at the storage facility. I don't really want to push their buttons making my parking area look like a construction site!

What I DO have, right under the storage drawers under said fridge, is some kind of sub-panel that appears to have a reasonably high-amp, always-on 12V feed because it's a fuse/relay subpanel for the slideout and stab. jacks. I'm wondering is whether it would make sense to put the power feed into here. That might also let me do some "easier" internal wiring from there up to near the switch panel by the front door to install a battery monitor...

Any thoughts?