Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2021, 11:09 PM   #1
Weekend Camper

WiFi extender help

I bought my fifth wheel new last year and have been loving it. Been doing as many 3-7 day trips in as I can. (Still consider myself a newbie). But we are ready to venture into more long term stays - like a few months. The thing we have learned is how spotty to non existent wi-fi can be in parks. We are looking at staying for 6 months or so at a park that says (and reviews mostly confirm) very good WiFi even for streaming movies but that farther out spots may need a WiFi booster or WiFi extender.

I’m no rocket scientist and not great with the 2020 era of technology so I was hoping someone could explain easily and simply to me what the difference is and what would be the easiest and best option for us to buy and install. I am REALLY hoping to avoid drilling any holes in the exterior. I’m just not understanding the stuff I’m reading online about these things. We are looking for something that will allow us to watch the occasional Netflix movie and be able to use the internet on a desktop

My fifth wheel comes with a pre-wired winegard satellite system but I honestly don’t know what that does for me either. I’m Assuming tv? Other than that I see nothing that deals with WiFi.

Thank you in advance for any help
Tim
Old 01-05-2021, 07:55 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

You have two coax ports outside. One is for cable tv and connected to a booster either behind the tv or on the ceiling in the bedroom; and the other is to hookup a satellite. I’ve never used a WiFi extender but am curious as to the answers.

*I have tried to live my life so that my family would love me and my friends would respect me. The others can do whatever the Hell they please!” —John Wayne
Papa-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 11:12 AM   #3
Site Team