Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-13-2012, 01:02 PM   #1
Full Time Camper

I swear shxx daxx fxxx . When I ever get a new truck I should just take a hammer to it first thing. Got my Chevrolet 2011 2500HD new September of Last year. On my first trip with the Cruiser I somehow managed to skuff the rear corner of the cab on the drivers side going down a steep hill twisty turn into the campground. Ok, a little touch up paint and only myself and my wife new. So, I had the bed sprayed with Line-X. First trip out after that and got the corner of the cruiser touching the drivers side rear bed rail; scuffing the new spray on. Sooooo, a little black silicone to fill in the scuff and good as new. Now the last trip of this year I had returned from two weeks at the OBX of N.C. Backing in the driveway at the house after eight hours of driving... Now I have been backing in this driveway since 2001. Ok, I admit I knew I was about 1 inch away from the railroad ties that line my driveway; watching in the mirror I was saying to myself "Getting a little close there, but still ok". Driveway gives away on the side letting my cruiser slide left into the ditch. Now I'm within 1/2 inch from hitting the 6x6 post at the entrance to the driveway. Now I live on a country road where hardly noone ever drives on. Yea, right you guessed it. Three cars come driving up the road as my truck and unit are crossways blocking the road. What do they do. No, they don't turn around and go the other way. They all get out and just stand there and watch. I couldn't turn right or left due to the post so, I had to put it in 4x4 and go straight across the road down over the other side a little and keep manuvering the truck until I finally got it out. My wife hasn't heard me curse that much since we got married 15 years ago. So, doing all this manuverng across the road Ismashed the rear corner bed rail into the c