Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2013, 04:36 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

Hello all, this is my first post here and I am looking for some honest feedback please. I have been lurking here for a few months so I know this is a good place to start.

My wife and I have been camping for several years now and we are thinking about upgrading to the2013 or 2014</span>Sunset Trail ST28BH. (We were looking at the 5th wheel model but that complicates things with a 5.5ft truck bed, but thats another side track all together.) </span>

Does anyone out there with this or similar model have any suggestions before we buy? What to look out for, things you would have done differently, how do they tow, etc.

Our second question is one of safety. We live on the central Florida gulf coast. We like to travel all over Florida (8-10+ times per year) and would like to extend that just a bit to some surrounding states as well. I don't have any experience pulling a TT but I have been pulling a large high wall popup for a few years now and I am very secure with that. I do drive very cautious while pulling the popup but I don't want to be white knuckle driving a new TT with my family in the truck. (I have seen the TT horror stories, but I also know there are measures and circumstances that drastically reduce the risks)

Our current setup is:
2012 Ram 1500 Hemi 5.5ft box</span>
2012 Rockwood HW296</span>
</span>
We would be upgrading to:</span>
Crossroads Sunset Trail Reserve ST28BH </span>http://www.crossroadsrv.com/sunset-t...rs/item/st28bh</span>
With a towing system from our dealer Blue Ox Sway Pro -</span>http://www.blueox.com/p-1181-swaypro.aspx

The dealer we are possibly buying from is LazyDays near Tampa, FL.