Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-28-2015, 02:33 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

Slide Leak

Getting very frustrated with our unit. Has been in the shop 3 times for a leak on the wardrobe slide. Discovered this leak when washing the unit with the slide in. This is after their 3rd attempt to correct the leak. When I went to pick it up last Saturday, the dealer had just put a bunch of caulking on the top corners. I refused it and a few days later they said the top seal on the trailer had been removed and replaced. Doesn't look like they verified the top seal of the slide though. These work hand-in-hand I thought to keep water out. This slide has leaked since we bought it, and with the slide in, not sure whether it leaks with it extended. The pic shows the top right of the slide and seal. I'm no engineer but I don't think there should be a gap in the horizontal seal, it should fully cover the vertical shouldn't it. Not sure how this unit passed the water test at the factory.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sept27-2015-1.jpg (208.6 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg Sept27-2015-10.jpg (172.3 KB, 12 views)
2006 Dodge Ram 2500 SLT, Mega Cab
Cummins powered
Golfreb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 05:41 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

First of all, they do not do the water test on every trailer, just some of them. Second, I know for a fact that if you are unable to get an item repaired at the dealer, you can contact the factory and take it there. The factory is in Topeka, Indiana, about 10 minutes south of Shipshewana.

2012 Cruiser Sahara 330SS
2015 F250 Super Duty diesel
Loneoak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 06:40 AM   #3
Weekend Camper