Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-17-2012, 06:47 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

I have a Deka Marine Master battery, it's a Group 24. The reserve

capacity is 70. Can anyone tell me the amp-hr for this battery? I'm considering using solar panels when I boondocket.

Old 02-19-2012, 11:26 AM   #2
Seasonal Camper

I would not try to dry camp on a group 24 battery. At best you would get somewhat less than one day of use if your solar panels weren't charging due to heavy overcast conditions. For dry camping I would suggest at least two 6 volt golf cart batteries wired in series to make 12 volts. If you find these inadequate then you could make another set of two golf cart batteries and wire them in parallel with the original set. This arrangement would give you as much as four days if you are careful with your use of energy.

Dodge 3500, 2011 CF305SKP
CygnusSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 03:26 AM   #3
Full Time Camper

Also might consider a portable generator if you're out in the boonies a lot. We use the Honda 2000.

Breckenridge, CO
'08 Crossroads Sunset Trail ST30BH Traded
'21 Grand Design Reflection 31MB 5er
'22 Cougar 29RLI 5er
'23 RAM 2500 4X4 CTD
coastn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 07:16 AM   #4
Family Vacation Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monarch
I have a Deka Marine Master battery, it's a Group 24. The reserve capacity is 70. Can anyone tell me the amp-hr for this battery? I'm considering using solar panels when I boondocket.