Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-06-2013, 04:43 PM   #1
Family Vacation Member

heater in basement area

Hey everyone, Iam working in Oklahoma and got stranded here during the ice and snow storm. Its going to get to near zero here tonight and I bought a very small ceramic heater and put it in the basement area.
I was wondering if anyone could share some tips they have about staying in your RV in extremely cold weather.I have been doing this for several years but this may be the coldest night yet.
I use a pirit heated water hose and since I purchased the new model I have had no problems with it. Does anyone else have one of these?
Electrical system in my 305sk leaves alot to be desired when you want to run a couple space heaters.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 006.jpg (295.6 KB, 5 views)
Old 12-06-2013, 07:37 PM   #2
Full Time Camper

Concrete
I understand that the infrared heaters don't draw as much electric as other space heaters. It probably isn't much help to you at this point though.
2022 Alliance Avenue 32RLS

In God We Trust
A proud member of the one percent...Semper Fi
sleepyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 08:58 PM   #3
Full Time Camper

A heated mattress pad is absolutely wonderful. Most have a Preheat that is really nice when you jump in. After a cold day of working, it is so cozy.
2013 Zinger 30KB - Sold
CrossroadsRV Rally 2013 & 2014 - Northeast Crossroads Rally 2014 - Mason-Dixon Rally 2014
BODERRVING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 09:48 PM   #4
Full Time Camper

Is it the ceramics that only heat your body ?!? you want good old fashioned HEAT in your basement and I'd open the access doors from the basement to the under carriage in THIS cold !

May be too late for tonight (we are going down to 17 in dfw !)
but a well hung 200 watt bulb that CAN'T touch anything in the basement will do wonders...