Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-08-2020, 05:01 PM   #1
New Camper

Smile Lighting problems on my pop up

Hi guys, I am having lighting issues with my tent trailer. Everything worked fine last year so I am assuming it's the trailer connection. I have bought a new tow vehicle and installed the quick connect trailer harness for the model. Everything seems fine on the car side. Trailer running lights are working, but intermittent problems with signal lights.Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't. Recently, they worked when brakes were applied only. I am not experienced with this sort of problem and have spent the last two days trying to resolve the problem. I have changed the plug for the trailer and it still did not fix it. Please help, this is ruining my vacation ! Thanks, Max
avalonmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 06:46 PM   #2
Site Team

Sometimes the bulb or socket will get covered over with film/corrosion/crude. Try taking the bulbs out and clean the ends of them. I usually just rub them briskly on my pants leg. For the socket it self, you can try and eraser on the end of a pencil, or some fine steel wool rubbed around down in the socket.

If you don't have one, get yourself a multi meter. Then you will be able to tell if there is any juice/DC current back there.
https://www.walmart.com/ip/GZYF-Digi...eter/464398218
Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 08:30 PM   #3
Site Team

Welcome to the forum, Max. I agree with Lloyd's advice. You also might try cleaning the bulbs with a wire brush. Check the sockets too. If they take the old automotive bayonet style bulbs, you can try cleaning the sockets with one of the wire brushes shaped like a cone or Christmas tree that is made to clean battery terminals.

2013 Silverado 2500HD LTZ CC 6.6L Duramax Diesel
2023 Rockwood 2445WS
Buster, miniature Dachshund