Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-19-2010, 10:55 PM   #1
Full Time Camper

If I geta DirecTV dish can I wire the RV to receive the signal in all three antenna jacks? Here's my idea: Dish to "SAT" connection. Inside the coach I loop a small piece of coax from a splitter connected to the incoming SAT jack to the standard antenna jack. In theory would I not be able to connect a DirecTV receiver to the existing antenna jacks at the other antenna sockets?

Second question: Since I am not considering an expensive sat dish I am looking at alternatives such as a DirecTV HDTV dish on a tripod. Any thoughts?

Art and Karen
2013 Itasca Sunstar 35F, 2013 Ford C Max toad.
170 nights in 2013
132 in 2014
artgpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 02:37 AM   #2
Seasonal Camper

Im not an expert but have looked at many forums trying to figure this out myself.

As far as I can tell, your theory about the jumper cable will not/should not work, atleast not the way that I think your saying, (by just jumping the main sat plate to the ant. plate on the outside, not inside the wall). The reason is the satellite signal wont go through the antenna boosters in the trailer no matter if they are turned on or off. It has something to do with the booster not allowing the type of signal thatany sat.dish puts out. I think it is because the ohms are higher with the sat. signalthan what the booster will let through.

I have a theory about it myself. It goes like this: the ant. plate in the trailer entertainment centerhas all the wires for the trailer in one place.