Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   CrossRoads RV Family Forum > CrossRoads | Tech > General RV Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 07-20-2016, 08:22 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

Exclamation Will high temps and humidity do and damage to a camper?

Not sure if this is a pointless question or not, but I thought I would at least ask. I’m new to camper trailers, so maybe this is a non-issue.

In my area (Southwest Missouri), the temps in the summer time hover around 90-95+ most of the time, and the humidity is crazy….anywhere from 85-95%....it feels like a sauna. When storing our camper, would it be a good idea to put a dehumidifier in it in order to try to dry out the air and keep the humidity out? I can’t even imagine how hot it gets inside the trailer when it’s setting out in the sun…..I’m sure it’s in the 100’s. Should I be leaving all of the vents/windows open (as long as there is no rain in the forecast) in order to keep air circulating through it? Will the high heat and humidity damage anything?

Or…..is this a non-issue……just keep it all buttoned up until I’m ready to use it?
IQRaceworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 08:28 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

High humidity is never good for an enclosed space. If you can leave a vent open a bit and a window that will help. If you have access to power when in storage, you could also add a fan to promote airflow (put it on a timer to come on during the hottest times). Humidity can cause wood to swell and things like cupboard doors can break the joints.
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 08:43 AM   #3
Full Time Camper

I put a vent cover on and leave the top vent open...
also, it would be good to leave a low level vent window slightly open to promote natural air flow...

BUT, opening the vents will let some dust come in too,
but that's what paper towels are for
Old 07-20-2016, 09:03 AM   #4