Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-22-2009, 09:09 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

After pumping RV antifreeze through the water system, how much should you put into the grey and black tanks, if they are drained as best as possible? I have heard amounts ranging from 2 cups to a full gallon in each tank. Does anyone have a good rule of thumb? Also should the black tank be treated with deodorizer as well? This is my first time doing this. Is there anything else that I should do or be prepared for?

Thanks for the assistance.
Old 09-22-2009, 10:24 AM   #2
Seasonal Camper

We never added antifreeze for the tanks specifically on our Hi-Lo and I did not plan to on the cruiser .However I add about 2 cups to each drain to clear all the water out of the p-traps.and when I do that I did add the same to the toilet I think there is just an elbow there but better safe than sorry.We have been trying the GEO method with our tanks and are fairly pleased with it and plan to add a cup of bleach to each tank for odor control through the winter.Just came back from Green Mountain Reservoir,and want to try to get at least one trip up to St Vrain before winterizing but did get snow camping near Kremmling this week.Made us think of winterizing as well.Good Luck

Edited by: mapachoo

2019 Volante 240RL
mapachoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 10:51 AM   #3
Weekend Camper