Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-28-2010, 02:14 PM   #1
New Camper

Picked up our new ZT26BL 5 weeks ago and are complete novices at camping, up until 5 weeks ago our idea of a road trip was a bag of clothes, a credit card, a map and Friday afternoon watching the clock to get away from work as soon after 5pm as possible...then hit the road.

Actually nothing has changed except we no longer need to look for hotels.

We are pretty spontanious people, ordered the trailer 1 week, picked it up the following Saturday morning and that afternoon were in Banff National Park, chilled out with a Gin & Tonic and some great new friends that wemade during our first disaster when the tongue jack collapsed as i was levelling for the first time (Zinger owners for 3 hours).

The disaster was averted by careful use of 2 bottle jacks and a socket set followed by a speedy bobtail trip back to the RV shop, some profuse appologising by the salesman and the offer of a replacement (stronger) jack by the parts dept. That was week 1 complete.

Week 2 started at 2 minutes passed 5pm with a dash home, hitch up (grabbed the dog and our 16 year old son)and scooting down to Great Falls, no dramas this time, just 3 trips to Walmart for a few essentials.

Week 3 involved a later start as i was held back at work, we crossed into the US and ended up in a park area in a little town East of Shelby, MT.

Early next morning we explored Tiber Dam, spent the afternoon there then headed down to Great Falls again, this time into the KOA. This was my Wifes first campfire... much bratwurst was eaten and much beer was drunk.

Last week we had to return to the KOA and asked for the same site, we set up for 21:30, Jan got the trailer ready while i lit the fire and collected wood... you can guess the rest.

Next night... campfire again.