Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 04-04-2021, 10:10 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

Total newbie here to introduce herself and ask a bunch of questions! :)

Hi all! My name is Whitney, my wife's name is Jessie, our 1-year-old daughter's name is Logan, and our Wheaten Terrier is Molly. We currently have a deposit on a 2021 Sunset Trail 272BH and we are VERY excited about it. Pickup is still a few weeks out as our dealer has a bit of a wait on prep and delivery due to time of year and a hot RV market.

Since putting down the deposit, I've thought of a whole host of questions..but I'll hold off on the rest until I can figure out the answer to the first and most important question. Here we go:

My towing vehicle is a 2021 Chevrolet Silverado Trail Boss. It's a crew cab/short box model with a 5.3L V8 and advanced trailering. It's rated at 9400lbs. Our 272BH is 5658lbs dry, 6380lbs with tongue weight. I can't seem to uncover a straight answer as to whether or not I'm cutting it close in terms of cargo capacity? After subtracting the dry weight + tongue weight, I'm left with 3020lbs. Here's a basic breakdown of things we'll carry:

Passenger weight including kid/dog: approximately 350lbs
Generator I anticipate purchasing: 100lbs (will only have this sometimes)
Two full propane tanks: 74lbs
Battery: 65lbs
Firepit: 18lbs
Clothes: estimating here...100lbs?
Pots/pans/dishware/etc.: estimating again...75lbs?

782lbs added up. 6380 + 782 = 7162lbs

Do we have enough headroom or should we be looking at a different trailer? That would be a REAL bummer because we absolutely love the 272BH. Thanks in advance!
Old 04-04-2021, 10:33 AM   #2
Site Team

Welcome aboard.

You will have to figure in a few more things.