Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-15-2015, 09:10 PM   #1
Family Vacation Member

Trailer weight to hitch % question

I know the ideal ratio would be 10%-15% should be tongue weight, but given I have the Z-218TD new type of toyhaulers here is my dilemna. This is a 2 part question as well. Hitch weight is running 1280lbs without adding generator and fuel. I know I will be over 1400lbs tongue weight. If I am a little over 1400lbs tongue weight, would 1400lb WD be sufficient or should I go for the 1500 lb bars, maxing out on the hitch? Other question is, fully loaded the rig is only at 6600lbs, way over that ratio. It is more like 22% on the hitch. But with different loading for the trailer if I have nothing on it then I am 700lbs hitch weight. Given that info, is a 1500lb WD hitch set up adjustable for both situations? I am a TOTAL noob to WD set ups. I ordered a set of eaz lift 1200lb WD set up prematurely and I am in the process of returning for something that will better suit my needs.

Can some of you seasoned travelers help out? Thanks.
morphrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2015, 09:01 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

15% is a lot different than 22% so I would think you would definitely need two different setups for when you have a larger load inside the rig. Maybe TWO sets of bars? I would call the hitch manufacturer and talk to them and see what they recommend. does the 22% overload the tow vehicle rating?
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2015, 09:23 AM   #3
Full Time Camper

Is there a downside to just running the larger bars all the time?

2017 Ford F350 Super Duty 6.7 King Ranch Crew
Sold the 2016 Crossroads Sunset Trail Grand Reserve 32BH
2020 Grand Design Momentum 320G
OhioMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2015, 10:48 AM   #4
Seasonal Camper