Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-07-2021, 06:27 AM   #1
Weekend Camper

What’s your TV’s tow rating and how much are you towing with it?

I’m deciding between a couple of setups; I’ve run my numbers carefully over and over again and I’m within my limits. But I think because I’m new to towing, I’m finding that I’m struggling to gauge whether or not where my numbers are falling is typical or if I’m pushing the bounds in either setup.

Would love to hear what your towing capacity is and how much you’re actually towing. If you know your TV’s max hitch weight and your RV’s hitch weight, bonus points. Many of you have been towing for longer than I’ve even been driving, so I would very much appreciate your input. Thank you in advance!
wborisenok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 07:09 AM   #2
Site Team

Just like in the other post you are going to get two schools of thought. One that will tell you that as long as you are under on the numbers your fine. The other will tell you that you do not have enough truck unless it says Kenworth or Freightliner on the front - Before it starts i know no one actually said that. It was to make a point that what ever truck/trailer combo you have you need a bigger truck.

I will say this; the numbers are one thing your driving habits/expectations are another. My brother in law was one that thought his truck/camper should pick up speed while going up a steep hill. He never had "enough power". Me i am in no hurry. Just sit back - let the truck find its happy place and enjoy the trip. But that came from over 30 years and a little over 3,000,000 accident free miles as a freight relocation engineer. And believe me i have witnessed the results of obviously mismatched rigs.