Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2018, 12:45 AM   #1
New Camper

Major roof issue - advice needed/appreciated

Hello! My name is Jenna and I'm a traveling nurse adventuring through our beautiful country with my fifth wheel and dog. I own a 2017 Rezerve 32ik and have some major roofing issues. Before anyone asks, let me disclaim that I've used spot seal as instructed and that I never drive above 60 when hauling my fifth wheel. I also bought this fifth wheel used with a 1 year warranty which has since expired.
In March this year I was coming through NM on i40W when I ran into a storm with winds of 30-40 mph, rain and hail. I slowed as much as I could without disrupting traffic and prayed not to wreck. Upon making it into AZ, a man flagged me down to inform me that my rubber roof was starting to pull up. I climbed up top to find he was right and the rubber membrane had begun to pull back from the front cap. I very carefully made it to a truck stop in the crazy winds but not before the rubber roof sheared back more causing rippling and thus causing my vent cover to shatter off leaving me with an open vent. I did some quick work and was able to rig a ratchet strap around the front with tape to make a wind shield and help me make it to an RV service store. I made a claim with insurance company, Progressive, and hoped all would be well as I left my rig in AZ for repairs. Camping World stated that the entire rubber membrane would need to be replaced as there were some small tears.