Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-19-2020, 05:58 PM   #1
New Camper

Crossroads Cameo Axle

I’m fairly new to the RV life and have a 2019 Crossroads Cameo fifth wheel, we predominantly bought the unit to snowbird in California from the cold Canadian winter.
Have made two trips down and back so far and have cumulated about 15,000 km or 10,000 +/- miles on the unit.
Noticed on my return this year that the inner treads of the driver side tandem axle wheels were wearing hard, there is also tread wear on passenger side, but not as bad.
The driver side inner tread is almost smooth.
Put the trailer up on the levelling jacks on the driveway and started measuring.
First I put a 6 foot straight edge across the mid point of the tires on each side.
The passenger sides shows that both tires against the straight edge are toed outwards, measured about a 3/16” gap between strait edge and tire at back of each axle.
Did same on driver side and strait edge indicated tires were toed inwards, again about the same 3/16”, but this time at the front of the tires on each axle.
Is this a indicator of poor manufacturing assembly, or would both axles be bent?
Thought with a bent axle would have a different toe in / out configuration.

Anybody out there have any experience with this?

Thanks from Canada
c.stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2020, 06:12 PM   #2
Site Team

Here is a link to similar problems others have had.
https://www.crossroadsowners.com/for...archid=2603274
Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2020, 07:08 AM   #3
Full Time Camper

Stewart
I rally with a couple that had the same problem with wearing out tires...They own a Forrest River Cardinal...They went through a couple of sets of tires ended up removing both axles and installing a Morr Ryde system at quite an expense to them...
2022 Alliance Avenue 32RLS

In God We Trust