Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-24-2011, 12:39 AM   #1
Family Vacation Member

First of all I am new to the forum. I have been researching 5th wheels for several months

I am going to look at a 2005 Cruiser 29 MK

Looking at the pictures it looks in very good shape.

I would like to know what do I need to look for as far as issues or problems?

Thanks in advance.

Mike
Texas1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 01:21 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

OK, I will be the first to chime in with a few items. Some older models had an issue with broken/bent outrigger "fins". They are the triangular pieces under the sidewalls that are welded to the box frame and help support the walls. I would also look for any water staining/damage indicating a possible leak, especially at the ceiling and front corners. Test all the appliances and lights/plugs. Not sure of the floorplan but if you have access to any plumbing under showers, check for leaks, tightness, staining. You can also check for tire wear patterns. Basically do a PDI. You may not want to spend the time on the first look, but if this unit makes your short list, a second, more in-depth inspection may be prudent.
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 02:55 AM   #3
Full Time Camper

Any unit that has been cleaned up for sale can look good on the surface. But you need to look beyond that as much as possible. I believe you said it is a bank repo, chances are no one has made a special effort to hide problems, the original owner wouldn't make the effort and the bank wouldn't know what to hide. So, unless the bank paid a dealer to do a serious prep, then you should be able to see any serious problem if you inspect it carefully.