Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2013, 11:20 PM   #1
max
Weekend Camper

First off as my sig says I am new at this, it will me my first TT.

We made an offer Sunday afternoon during a local RV show.

We chose the 2013 26BH based on its smaller/reasonable size/weight, tons of features and our family needs and wants. Love the full coach and bigger dinette and bigger queen bed. Don't need the exterior kitchen and as far as a smaller bathroom, I don't think i will be using it much. It seems better sized for women and kids. We have 3 small kids under 5, so we may need to get larger beds down the road, but it seems roomy for now.

I always thought the extended warranty was for suckers, but it seems there are things that go wrong, and with the RESERVE model everything is electric. Some people love the convenience but it also means more can go wrong. The extended warranty is $2500 and it lasts 7 years, so while it offers a concurrent warranty for the first 2 years it does offer some extras. Is it worth it? I believe Crossroads makes a great product, but I was wondering if its worth it if a slide motor goes. If you claim nothing in 7 years, you get $200 of that back....seems unlikely NOTHING goes wrong in 7 years though no matter hpow good the quality.

Given the fading fibreglass cap issues and the overall look of the trailer over the long term. They are offering a true -coat product that coats the unit and will keep it shiny, easier to clean. I also read about rock chips. I haven't had a chance to ask the dealer if it helps with that yet . Maybe I'd still need to buy #M film for the cap anyway or get a Towtector.

I usually scoff at things like extended warranty and the coating, but since its my first RV I am not sure.

As far as use, it will be mountains and local campgrounds, not much gravel roads, and I don't plan on taking it into the backcountry to hunt.