Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2012, 05:33 AM   #1
Weekend Camper
 
Bill Jenner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wmsburg, VA
Posts: 12




I'd like to install a Surge Guard on my Cruiser & am inclined to go with the "hard wired" unit someplace inside the RV, instead of the outside portable type, for security reasons.
I'm wondering if anyone has tried either and at what location did you place the inside unit if that was the option you elected to use?
__________________
Bill
Bill Jenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:17 AM   #2
Site Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: WI.
Posts: 7,627
Here's a link to what some of us have done.
http://www.crossroadsrv.com/forum/fo...=2154&PN=1



__________________
2008 Cruiser CF26RK
2013 Ford Eco-Boost
Heavy duty payload - Max tow
Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:22 AM   #3
Family Vacation Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 144


I'm not familiar with your unit but just a general bit of info regarding the surge protector location. The nearer to the point of use, the better the protection. This is because it eliminates the more chances for open neutrals, broken wires, bad connections, etc of the portable or remote located type.
carl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:07 AM   #4
Full Time Camper
 
geondebi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 591
When I first bought my trailer I got a surge protector. Later through reading here and other forums I then thought I needed something to regulate voltage. On a few trips I did notice voltage drop at campgrounds to a dangerous level for my AC unit (below or near 107 vac) The only two boxes I know is the autoformer or the power master (that I have) that not only protect with surges and voltage. These units can be plugged in outside or with an adapter kit wired to the inside, mine is mounted inside. These units are costly but a great peace of mind for me.

This was a little long and might not answer your question. I guess if you think it will get stolen then mount it inside. But if it is hard wired if a surge is detected and it be reset or are you out of luck for power. If needed with the way mine is wired It can be taken out of the system.




__________________
George and Debi
2006 F250 PSD, 2005 PF30CK
geondebi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:58 AM   #5
Weekend Camper
 
Trini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brampton On
Posts: 65




I install my in the box where the power wire is stored. just cut the power wire and Install theline side to to the part with the plug & the load side with the wire that going to your panel in the Trailer. It was done on my 2012 Sunset trail 30 RE
Trini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.