Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2017, 08:16 PM   #1
Seasonal Camper
 
SeanRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NH
Posts: 393
Progressive Industries EMS

Has anyone put one of these in their rig? I'm pretty handy, just a little nervous about cutting the cord because it runs down the entire length of the 5th wheel.

We are going to a new seasonal campsite and they only have 30 amp service. I have the dog bone and I have a Progressive industries surge protector that attaches at the pedestal. My concern is the electronics and brown outs. Was talking to friends at the RV show Saturday and they lost two A/C units and a refrigerator last summer in their 2 year old Wildwood because of brown outs. They have been on the same site for 28 years. Guess their old camper handled the power fluctuation better.

I was hoping there was a transfer box in the front garage, but I didn't see one when I looked tonight. The 5th wheel is covered and zipped up tight, have to go in and see if there is room behind the inverter, or maybe inside the garage where I can splice it in.

Any suggestions or tips would be great. The installation videos on YouTube look fairly straight forward.

Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea

Thanks,
Sean
__________________
2016 Cruiser 315RL
2012 Ford F350 King Ranch diesel SRD

SeanRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 10:02 AM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,508
I installed the 50 amp version last year. Found sufficient space in the basement compartment just below the power panel. There was enough slack in the main power cord to cut it and make the connections. If the line had been tight, I would have disconnected it from the power panel and purchased a few extra feet of line from HD. Not that difficult to do except for the cramped work area fighting 6 gauge wire and making tight connections. My display is mounted next to the power panel. It detected a missing ground at the last campsite.
__________________
Larry Day

Texas Baptist Men-Retiree Builders member since '01
13 Silverado 3500HD D/A, 2wd CCSB srw, custom RKI bed
11 Cruiser CF32MK
http://www.picturetrail.com/dayle1
Dayle1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 03:53 PM   #3
Seasonal Camper
 
SeanRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NH
Posts: 393
Thanks Larry. I'm pretty handy, I just don't want to mess up something I can't come back from. I would feel better if I could see where the cord runs from the connection on the outside to the panel.

I've been holding off taking the RV cover as long as I can. I will have to go inside and see what's where. Most of the snow is gone.
__________________
2016 Cruiser 315RL
2012 Ford F350 King Ranch diesel SRD

SeanRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 05:55 PM   #4
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanRN View Post
Thanks Larry. I'm pretty handy, I just don't want to mess up something I can't come back from. I would feel better if I could see where the cord runs from the connection on the outside to the panel.

I've been holding off taking the RV cover as long as I can. I will have to go inside and see what's where. Most of the snow is gone.
Yeah, it depends on the location of the power panel. If it sits at the bottom of a wall on the main floor, then the line will be routed in the underbelly and thru a hole in the floor. You may not have space or slack in the line. Mine sits up higher in the hallway, so the line had to pass thru the compartment floor and then thru the hallway floor.
Dayle1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 07:38 PM   #5
Seasonal Camper
 
SeanRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NH
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dayle1 View Post
Yeah, it depends on the location of the power panel. If it sits at the bottom of a wall on the main floor, then the line will be routed in the underbelly and thru a hole in the floor. You may not have space or slack in the line. Mine sits up higher in the hallway, so the line had to pass thru the compartment floor and then thru the hallway floor.

My power panel is on the floor. I'm hoping the cord comes in from behind. Worse case, I'll buy a junction box at HD and some new cable.
__________________
2016 Cruiser 315RL
2012 Ford F350 King Ranch diesel SRD

SeanRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 08:34 AM   #6
Full Time Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanRN View Post
My power panel is on the floor. I'm hoping the cord comes in from behind. Worse case, I'll buy a junction box at HD and some new cable.
You won't need the junction box if there is space for the surge protector behind the power panel. CR seems to do a good job of leaving excess wire , so hopefully you can pull the panel out without disconnecting any wires, just shut off both AC and DC power.
Dayle1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 04:13 PM   #7
Seasonal Camper
 
SeanRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NH
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dayle1 View Post
You won't need the junction box if there is space for the surge protector behind the power panel. CR seems to do a good job of leaving excess wire , so hopefully you can pull the panel out without disconnecting any wires, just shut off both AC and DC power.
The power cord is in the cubby and both batteries are in my workshop on the battery tender. I have 2 weekends to work on the 5th wheel before it gets transported to the campground and now we are having 6-8 inches of snow Friday into Saturday. I can't win.
SeanRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 04:44 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: WI.
Posts: 7,614
My surge guard is going on 7 years old. It doesn't have all the new bells and whistles, but it does the job.
I was able to splice into the land line where it enters the trailer in the back corner. They even had a junction box there.

__________________
2008 Cruiser CF26RK
2013 Ford Eco-Boost
Heavy duty payload - Max tow
Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2017, 05:35 PM   #9
Weekend Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 46
Sean, I put in a 50 amp EMS in my 5th wheel last year. Once I pulled the panel box, which was under the stove, I realized I could not get my hands in there to work. I ended up removing the stove/oven and had plenty of room to work. Once I cut the cable I had lots of loose cable to move around. Those wires are pretty hard to work with but I did it. Works great! I put the remote readout in the basement where my hook-ups are. Here are a couple pictures. Dave











__________________

Dave
2011 Cruiser CF31REP 5th Wheel
2007 Dodge RAM 3500 Dually, Cummins 5.9
55wed55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 06:37 AM   #10
Seasonal Camper
 
SeanRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: NH
Posts: 393
Thanks. Dave. My box is at the bottom of a bank of narrow drawers just inside the door. Not sure what I'm going to do yet. ApprecI ate the pictures. Will take some pics and post when I get the EMS installed.
__________________
2016 Cruiser 315RL
2012 Ford F350 King Ranch diesel SRD

SeanRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brown out, electronics, surge


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.