Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2015, 04:21 PM   #1
Weekend Camper
 
jattaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: KY
Posts: 28
Exclamation Shore Power causing GFI fuse to blow

Please Help! Looking for some trouble shooting advice...

We have a Sunset Trails 32 Bunk House (ST32BH) and have had the this issue a couple of times. When we plug into shore power in a GFI outlet it pops the fuse within 5-6 seconds. It is a 30amp GFI outlet and the only thing on in the camper is the fridge. I have ensured the AC is off and none of the fuses are blown within the camper. I have switched to a different AC outlet (on a different GFI switch) and it still blows. I have changed extension cords and it still blows. We have had the camper for about a year and had this issue several months ago after the dealership pulled one of the slide outs to work on the seals for a leaking issue. I took the camper back and explained the situation and they said they could not duplicate it. After pulling camper home it worked fine on shore power for several months, but now the issue is back!
__________________
2015 Ford F-250 4x4 Lariat 6.7 Powerstroke
Honda EM6500S
2014 Sunset Trails Reserve 32 Bunk House
jattaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 04:28 PM   #2
Full Time Camper
 
fhenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ms
Posts: 2,739
Change the GFI. Look for a junction box under the slide, p[ull the cover and make certain no water is in there. Seal with a good sealer.
__________________
Frank and Janet Henn
2017 380MBH pushing a 2007 Dodge
CDT with a six speed Automatic
Traveling with Hoover and Rainbow the wonder dogs and now with Sunshine the rescue Schnauzer.
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 04:36 PM   #3
Full Time Camper
 
Stan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 1,986
Couple things to clarify....When you plug into the campground (or other) power, the GFI on the pedestal trips...Correct? Your not talking about a GFI inside the rig right?
This has happened on several DIFFERENT pedestals right?

It sounds like you have a short or miswired circuit. Turn off ALL Circuit Breakers (CB's) in the rig. Plug into the pedestal (or source). Now turn on one CB at time and wait to see if the GFI trips. If not, turn on another CB and wait. Do this until all CB's are on and hopefully you will discover which circuit has an issue. Once you figure out the circuit, let us know and we will help you continue troubleshooting. It could be a faulty GFI within the rig, water in a junction box, bad wiring at an outlet, etc. The first thing is to isolate the issue down to a circuit.
__________________
Stan and Terri
Oak Harbor, WA
2008 Chevy 2500HD D/A
2007 Cruiser CF30SK
Glide Ride Pin Box
Reese 16K Slider
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 04:43 PM   #4
Weekend Camper
 
jattaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: KY
Posts: 28
fhenn,

you're a rockstar! That just worked and the junction box was smack full of water. Do you think the water leaked in from the top or the bottom? I can seal the bottom, but don't know how I would get to the top of the junction box to seal it.
__________________
2015 Ford F-250 4x4 Lariat 6.7 Powerstroke
Honda EM6500S
2014 Sunset Trails Reserve 32 Bunk House
jattaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 04:54 PM   #5
Full Time Camper
 
fhenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ms
Posts: 2,739
More than likely came in where they mated just seal that area well
__________________
Frank and Janet Henn
2017 380MBH pushing a 2007 Dodge
CDT with a six speed Automatic
Traveling with Hoover and Rainbow the wonder dogs and now with Sunshine the rescue Schnauzer.
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 05:04 PM   #6
Weekend Camper
 
jattaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: KY
Posts: 28
fhenn,

will do and thanks again!
__________________
2015 Ford F-250 4x4 Lariat 6.7 Powerstroke
Honda EM6500S
2014 Sunset Trails Reserve 32 Bunk House
jattaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 05:16 PM   #7
Full Time Camper
 
MartyinSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SC
Posts: 638
Somebody educate me, please. When I put a 30 amp RV outlet in my back yard, I found that 30 amp GFIs were rare and expensive. I put in a regular outlet. Stan mentioned multiple pedestals. I have never seen a GFI 30 (or 50) in a campground; only the 20 amp outlets are GFI protected. Did the "norm" somehow change since last season? BTW, great call on water in the box! The GFI did exactly what it was designed to do! If 30 amp GFIs become more common, we might all remember this thread!
__________________
Marty and Martha
2015 Z-1 211RD
2012 Nissan Titan
Dalzell SC
MartyinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 05:45 PM   #8
Full Time Camper
 
fhenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ms
Posts: 2,739
The GFI is inside your camper. Mine has two GFI's One is located in the bathroom and the other one is in the kitchen. Generally they are not out doors or on a pedestal
__________________
Frank and Janet Henn
2017 380MBH pushing a 2007 Dodge
CDT with a six speed Automatic
Traveling with Hoover and Rainbow the wonder dogs and now with Sunshine the rescue Schnauzer.
fhenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 06:20 PM   #9
Weekend Camper
 
jattaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: KY
Posts: 28
The GFI I was referring to was at my house. It never happened in the campground and only happened when I used shore power at my house. We normally pull the camper to the house the day prior to leaving in order to cool the fridge down. And when I used plugged in (at my house) to a 30amp non-GFI outlet it worked. Weird... But, as fhenn recommended I drained the water out of the junction box and shore power is working fine in the GFI outlet. What is amazing is, I took the camper to my stealership and they couldn't diagnose the problem. Thank goodness for forums!
__________________
2015 Ford F-250 4x4 Lariat 6.7 Powerstroke
Honda EM6500S
2014 Sunset Trails Reserve 32 Bunk House
jattaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 06:30 PM   #10
Full Time Camper
 
Stan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 1,986
Sorry for the confusion. I was trying to answer your request based on what you wrote..."When we plug into shore power in a GFI outlet it pops the fuse within 5-6 seconds. It is a 30amp GFI outlet...". Glad you found the problem.
__________________
Stan and Terri
Oak Harbor, WA
2008 Chevy 2500HD D/A
2007 Cruiser CF30SK
Glide Ride Pin Box
Reese 16K Slider
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Crossroads RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.