Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2017, 08:03 AM   #1
New Camper

Hybrid bed problem

I have a 19 ft crossroads hybrid sunset trail with drop down beds on both ends. It's a 2010.we store the camper indoors and keep good maintenance if it. Last fall we took it to a local dealer to see about trade in. They claim the beds have water damage because the outside is wavy. We ALWAYS make triple sure everything is dry before closing. They said that the waves in the fiberglass can only be from moisture. I noticed over the years that it would get wavy with changes in temp. Mostly hot weather. I tried calling crossroads. They told me they have no clue to take it to another dealer for 2bd opinion. I was accused of not only not maintain it properly (nothing in maintenance to tell me to do anything special ) but also was totally insulted by trade in offer of 1500. Help! Any advice?
Dkhudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 08:28 AM   #2
Full Time Camper

The waveyness in the fiberglass may very well be from water intrusion or ? By all means get another opinion. Do shop around when we switched campers the trade in prices for our old unit varied greatly (thousands of $) from dealer to dealer. Shop around and find the deal that you are comfortable with. Good luck.
2021 Ford F-250 XLT Premium
6.2L, 6 3/4 ft bed, FX4. Tow pkg.
sjk1998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 03:18 PM   #3
Site Team

Many older rv's had "soft walls" installed from the factory. It's basically a skin applied over studs without any substrate material behind it. Over time, it does get wavy.

Inspect the floor around the wall for any evidence of water intrusion, also, check the NAPA rv website for value of your rv. https://www.nadaguides.com/RVs/2010/Crossroads-RV

EAGLE HT FIFTH WHEEL | 30.5CKTS - '13 Ford F150 SCREW - PullRite Superslide - Roadmaster Active Suspension