Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-19-2023, 07:34 PM   #1
Weekend Camper

Damage from accident

We were in an accident today. We have a 2018 Sunset Trail 253RB. We slammed into a car in front of us pretty hard. Unfortunately inspecting the trailer we noticed that the trailer box slid about an inch forward on the frame. Was wondering if anyone has ever had this happen to them and could it be fixed. We were able to drive home.
Old 06-25-2023, 04:22 PM   #2
Weekend Camper

Have it professionally appraised. If it’s shifted there could be other damage you can’t see which will cause future problems. Report it to your insurance company have them do an inspection and appraisal. I’ve been a mechanic and instructor for many years sometimes it’s worth it to let an insurance company handle the damage.
Thomas Walch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2023, 04:47 PM   #3
Weekend Camper

The insurance company has already sent their appraiser who specializes in RV’s. I just needed to know all the issues before I hear back from the adjuster. I believe it will be totaled. But in case the insurance wants to fix it I wanted to have as much information to negotiate with the insurance.
Old 06-25-2023, 05:08 PM   #4
Weekend Camper

Do a little of your own research. Price out comparable rv’s that are being sold. Look at high and low prices come up with the average. That way when they offer a compensation you will have an idea what they should be giving you. A few years ago that is how I dealt with a claim and it worked out well.
Old 06-29-2023, 02:21 PM   #5
Weekend Camper