Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-28-2012, 08:53 AM   #1
Full Time Camper

Send a message via MSN to tator447

I am new to Travel Trailer camping and having full hookups, etc. My question concerns water filtration systems. If I put a water filtration system on, and I camp for 3 or 4 days, when camping is done and I break everything down, what should I do with the water filter cartridge. In other words, do I put some peroxide in the container and leave some water in it to keep it from drying out and contaminating? Or do I just dump all the water from it, clean it and let it dry out? Anyone using a filter system that can comment I would appreciate it. Thanks to all.

Jim

Jim & Linda Tator
Watertown, WI
2013 Crusier CF34SS GMC 3500 8.1L Dually
154 nights in 2013 - 4,370 miles
178 nights in 2014 - 5,082 miles
365 nights in 2015 - 6,040 miles
tator447 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 09:08 AM   #2
Weekend Camper

I have always used the ones that connect to your supply hose. I just coil up my supply hose with the filter still connected, and then fasten the male connector of the hose to the female connector of the filter. That was more to keep things dry than any other reason. Your question about keeping stuff from growing in the filter is a good one. I've never done anything more than replace the filter each season. Interested to see what others do.

2008 GMC 2500HD Duramax

2009 Cruiser 30SK Patriot

jererp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 09:28 AM   #3
Weekend Camper

Also, I have always used a pressure regulating valve at the trailer end of the hose. This is to prevent high pressure water systems in parks from blowing the RV water lines. Never had that type of problem myself, but then I've always had the regulating valve installed. I considered it cheap insurance.

2008 GMC 2500HD Duramax

Old 03-28-2012, 09:39 AM   #4
New Camper